Best of Everything Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Loved this, but obviously made a few changes b/c, well, who doesn't? lol Added 1 extra can of beans, 1 red and 1 green bell pepper, 1 1/2 c of brown rice, 2 cups of pepper jack cheese, whole wheat cracker crumbs, and 6 eggs (help it hold together really well and gave it a very meaty flavor). Not sure about the exact measurement, but I ended up using 1 1/2 sleaves of cracker crumbs. Also, after blending the veggies, I drained off the excess liquid like was suggested in previous reviews. It ended up kind of close to the texture of really thick chunky peanut butter when done. Also, to give it a nice crunch, I dredged the outside of each patty w/ crumbs and pan fried them in an olive oil/butter mixture for 7-9 minutes each side on medium heat (wanted to make sure all that egg was cooked through). No need for an egg wash since the mix is already so moist. Oh, and just so you guys know, I served these on whole wheat chiabatta rolls with spinach, tomato slices, and hummus instead of mayo. My friends are consumate meat eaters and even they adored these! One even asked me for the recipe so he could make them himself! I'm thinking about melting slices of fresh mozzerella on top of each patty under the broiler next time. We really like cheese around here! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kempner, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
The mixture fell apart so the bowl had to be stuck in the freezer for about 20 minutes to make it workable. We also had an incident due to forgetting to grease the foil, but after everything was sorted out they were really good. A friend of mine who hates veggie burgers came over to eat these with my family and me and loved them! Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellio

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
We really enjoyed these but I, too, wound up having to add a LOT more breadcrumbs than the recipe called for and don't know why as I followed all directions exactly as written. Other than that, no issues and we loved them (although the kids weren't quite as crazy about them)! Also, I'd recommend cooking the rice according to package directions as I walked away from mine after setting the timer for the amount of time listed and wound up having to make new rice....lol. We'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very easy to make but takes a little time but it is definately worth it....Tastes GREAT! I made a few minor changes but pretty much followed the recipe. I added some corn and cut back on cumin and chili powder but added some cajun seasoning. I did have to add more breadcrumbs and I did drain and rinse the black beans and dried them off, also drained the pepper and onions after finely chopping. This makes plenty I'm so happy now I can freeze them and have them anytime! Thanks I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
My husband made this yesterday and they were A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! We plan on making a double batch and freezing them this week for future meals. No need to buy frozen, pre-made veggie burgers again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissykeikocakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These burgers were HUGE! I thought about halving the recipe and was sorry I didn't. I baked them and it took longer to cook than the directions said. They tasted pretty good, but more hassle than they were worth in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PercyPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
These were very good. The first time I made these I cooked them as stated on the bbq and it didn't work well at all for me. The second time I cooked them on my electric skillet and it was so much easier. Kids loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Ching

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I love this recipe! I made it exactly as written and ended up with 12 burgers. I popped them in the freezer for a bit after shaping them and they held together nicely for me. They freeze well - I wrapped them individually after cooking and stacked them in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
My vegetarian friends loved these when I made them! I made a few substitutions, as we all do, and used baby portobello mushrooms instead of regular, a yellow pepper vs. a green for sweetness, and black beans with chilies vs. regular for extra kick. When making the mixture, I definitely had to work in more than the listed amount of breadcrumbs to get these burgers to stay together... before grilling, I coated each in a light layer of olive oil a dusting of breadcrumbs. It helped keep their shape a little bit better. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chadae
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Just finished sampline one. These were ok to me. My vegetarian boyfriend really loved it! But others kinda had mixed reviews-they felt something was missing. I use cayenne pepper instead of hotsauce. My blender seemed to malfunction so I used a potato masher to crush the beans. I added seasoning to my brown rice while it cooked (goya adobo, lawrys) like how I cook regular rice. Also I added the cumin seasoning directly to the beans after I mashed them. I wished the texture was more sturdier. Maybe I shouldve drained the mixture of onions and bell peppers (was kinda watery) or perhaps fry/grill instead. I also made smaller ones for breakfast. I had to add more bread crumbs, but it kept really well in the freezer. All in all, its a great recipe-just need to tweak it a bit. No one I know eats veggie burger without lettuce, etc..so I cant wait to try these with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chadae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States