Best of Everything Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SweetPea
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I have not tried this, but, have heard it is a good sub for eggs as a binder in recipes, like meatloaf, so I'm sure it would work here for these burgers as a sub for those that are lacto-vegetarian The Recipe: Flaxseed Egg-Substitute 1/2 cup flaxseed 1 1/2 cup water Directions: Grind flaxseed to a fine powder in an electric coffee grinder. Mix flaxseed and water in blender and blend on high for 2 minutes. Chill for 1 hour to set up. It can be used now, but it has a more egg-like consistency if allowed to chill. Keep refrigerated up to 3 days. Using the Flaxseed Mixture: 1/4 cup of flax mixture = 1 Egg 1 cup of flax mixture = 4 Eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I substitute flaxseed and water all the time for eggs. One egg is equal to one tbsp ground flaxseed plus 3 tbsp water. Works great - but gives a slightly nuttier flavour than eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Loved the flavour but had trouble with the texture-used the flax seed substitution for eggs, for my vegan husband. Ended up frying to get a "sturdier" patty. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Delicious... but for all of the "extra" stuff in this recipe, it still tasted almost exactly like the veggie burger recipe I usually follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This is so delicious! I made it for a backyard get together and even the "meat loving men" loved them! They are so yummy, especially if you top them with avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These were really delicious! I baked them, and they looked beautiful. I had to add about twice the amount of bread crumbs, but followed everything else exactly, and then when cooked, topped them with mashed avocado, tomato, and American cheese, and they were great :-). Very filling, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotta Curls

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2eat
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
My family loved these burgers! I made 8 small patties from the recipe. I cooked them all and then froze 4 of them for later. I just reheated them in the oven at 425 for 6 min on each side. They we great! I didn't use the hot sauce but followed all the other ingredients exactly. You definitely need to top them off with lots of fresh veggies.( lettuce,onion,tom....ect)I will be making a huge batch to freeze for sports nights when I need to have a fast healthy meal. Thank you for the great recipe! To make the patties I lined a small container with saran wrap and then pushed the filling in and made them as big as I wanted. Then I just dropped them onto the pan. It works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
It was just ok. Tasted mostly the chili powder. When i think of veggie burgers i imagine a "meatier" texture kinda like the morning star brand veggie burger. This should be called a black bean burger. It was edible but nothing i would make again. Will continue my search.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Great veg burger! The veggie-bean-spice flavors melded quite nicely. Alterations: I substituted corn for mushrooms and didn't use mozzarella or as much bread crumbs. My burgs needed to cook for a bit longer than was recommended. Served them on wheat buns with guac, lettuce, and salsa. I'll definitely make again. These were totally Tex-Mex, so I might try to change ingredients and toppings to make different "themed" veggie burgs: Italian (basil, oregano, thyme, sundried tomatoes, grated parm), Asian (soy, ginger, broccoli), Mediterranean (chickpeas, olives, garlic, oregano, feta) etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seymour, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I also added grilled veggies and onions. My aluminum caught fire, but didn't harm anything. Found it nessacary to spray canola oil on spatula to flip them.Also used cayenne instead of chili powder and added fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States