Best of Everything Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I made this a few days ago, with only two changes to the original recipe - granulated garlic in place of the garlic salt, and oatmeal instead of bread crumbs. I did end up needing quite a bit more oatmeal to get it to stick together. I first tried frying them with Pam, but they stuck horribly. The taste was pretty good and the consistency was fine once I'd cooked them long enough. It was my first veggie burger, and both my kids and I liked them well enough to eat them throughout the week. I saved half the mixture and am baking them now. I've baked them on a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet for about 15 minutes at roughly 375* so far (my oven isn't very accurate, so you may need to experiment with this). When I flipped them just now, they stayed together perfectly and looked much better than the pan-fried attempt. They also looked much less 'mushy,' so this cooking method improves the consistency as well. I also have to agree with the reviewers who said this recipe should make far more than 6 patties. I'm using a 1/2 cup measuring cup and a quarter of the recipe came out to 3 1/2 burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
These were good, but I did have trouble keeping the patty together. Since it was cold, we didn't grill them but tried to bake them in the oven. It took much longer than 20 minutes. I ended up using some of the leftover bean mixture and cooking it over the stove top like pancakes and it cooked much quicker. It also made more than 6 servings, more like 10-12 servings. The leftovers the next day were crumbly so I heated them up and ate it in large lettuce leaves. It made an awesome filling for these makeshift lettuce wraps. I thought it tasted better than the day I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susierunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I didn't care for these. I had high expectations after reading the reviews, but was disappointed. I thought the kids would detest them, but two of my kids actually gobbled them down. The burgers could have used more salt. This was the first time I made veggie burgers and thought it was great to not worry about the raw meat, getting them to the right temp etc., so I will search for more recipes. Oh, I cooked these in the grill pan on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Oh my this was sooooooo good, its better warmed up... I would only add more seasoning... other than that I will make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
these taste GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I wondered how people followed the recipe "exactly" & yet got such different results. I also thought the 6 cloves of garlic was a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Just made it and loved it, even my 2 year old loves it. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My wife and I recently switched our diet and have been looking for a "good" substitution for the good old hamburger. Not only was this terrific, but it makes enough that we browned up the rest and are saving it to add to salads tomorrow. Instead of canned beans, I made my own from dried, and I did not put in the hot sauce. I also scooped it with a muffin scoop and pressed it flat in a burger press between sheets of was paper so that they cooked evenly on my grill. My only suggestion would be to increase the number of servings this recipe makes. Even using the large muffin scoop the burgers were 7 inches across and 3/4" thick and I made 17 burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tikaani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was so good I was really surprised. I made this for my vegetarian daughters but loved it as much as they did. I sauteed mushrooms and onions for toppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I tried this recipe but the patties were HUGE!, made it into 12 servings, got rid of the cheese, substituted 3 egg whites for the eggs and garlic powder for the garlic salt. Used a sodium free homemade chili powder. It is a wonderful recipe, will make this many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States