Best of Everything Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
My husband made this yesterday and they were A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! We plan on making a double batch and freezing them this week for future meals. No need to buy frozen, pre-made veggie burgers again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissykeikocakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These burgers were HUGE! I thought about halving the recipe and was sorry I didn't. I baked them and it took longer to cook than the directions said. They tasted pretty good, but more hassle than they were worth in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PercyPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
These were very good. The first time I made these I cooked them as stated on the bbq and it didn't work well at all for me. The second time I cooked them on my electric skillet and it was so much easier. Kids loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Ching

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I love this recipe! I made it exactly as written and ended up with 12 burgers. I popped them in the freezer for a bit after shaping them and they held together nicely for me. They freeze well - I wrapped them individually after cooking and stacked them in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
My vegetarian friends loved these when I made them! I made a few substitutions, as we all do, and used baby portobello mushrooms instead of regular, a yellow pepper vs. a green for sweetness, and black beans with chilies vs. regular for extra kick. When making the mixture, I definitely had to work in more than the listed amount of breadcrumbs to get these burgers to stay together... before grilling, I coated each in a light layer of olive oil a dusting of breadcrumbs. It helped keep their shape a little bit better. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chadae
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Just finished sampline one. These were ok to me. My vegetarian boyfriend really loved it! But others kinda had mixed reviews-they felt something was missing. I use cayenne pepper instead of hotsauce. My blender seemed to malfunction so I used a potato masher to crush the beans. I added seasoning to my brown rice while it cooked (goya adobo, lawrys) like how I cook regular rice. Also I added the cumin seasoning directly to the beans after I mashed them. I wished the texture was more sturdier. Maybe I shouldve drained the mixture of onions and bell peppers (was kinda watery) or perhaps fry/grill instead. I also made smaller ones for breakfast. I had to add more bread crumbs, but it kept really well in the freezer. All in all, its a great recipe-just need to tweak it a bit. No one I know eats veggie burger without lettuce, etc..so I cant wait to try these with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chadae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
These are pretty good. I cooked them in the oven because they weren't holding together very well. After I cooked them, they were still falling apart, but after letting them cool, they held together better. I might play around with the spices next time, not sure I like cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Wow! This really is the best of everything! I adjusted the amount of bread crumbs to get the right consistency, but otherwise followed all measurements. I was so impressed with the flavor! I made these for a cookout, and even some of the meat-eaters chose this over beef. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I made these for my boyfriend & I (both meat & burger lovers) when we were looking for something different. They were tasty and we both enjoyed the southwest flavor to the burgers. We left out the shredded cheese and ate with a slice of swiss instead. Also omitted the onions & green pepper. My only thought was that they were slightly too salty and I would cut back on the garlic salt and perhaps try adding chopped jalepeno for some zip in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These were very good! I used ground flax and water as egg replacer (2 tbsp flax, 6 tbsp warm water for 2 eggs), precooked frozen brown rice and omitted the cheese. I had large cloves of garlic so I only used three and I can't say I used exact measurements for the spices, but in the end it tasted right. I found the patties very easy to work with and they held together nicely, but the centers of the burgers were still pretty mushy, almost like a bean dip. Next time I'll add more bread crumbs or maybe try it with the cheese to see if that helps. But like I said, flavor was excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States