Best of Everything Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I had to add double the bread crumbs, but otherwise incredible. I pan fried them on medium High for six minutes a side. Everyone was gushing about how great they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I was really excited about this recipe, followed it exactly and was not happy with the result. First of all, the cooking time is absolutely NOT long enough. In fact, I'm not sure how long they should cook, because after grilling them for over an hour, I finally moved them to bake in the oven, and another 30 minutes longer they were still mushy inside. I tried another batch with more bread crumbs and had the same problem. And second, the taste was bad. All I could taste was the chili powder, which now that I think about it, is kind of a strange spice to add so much of. Not to mention, this recipe is time consuming. I spent almost 3 hours between prep and cooking, which is just entirely too long when I have 3 hungry, cranky children waiting to be fed. And then on top of it all, they tasted bad and I ended up having to whip up something else for dinner in a hurry. I have no idea how to fix this recipe to my liking. My search will continue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe. By far the best veggie burgers I have found. I use 1 can of black beans and 1 can of red kidney beans, omit the garlic and onions (I find they do not cook well enough and the taste becomes overwhelming), and change the spices according to my mood. Most days I just add hot sauce and seasoning salt. I also use crumbles soda crackers instead of bread crumbs. Just add until the right consistency is achieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I didn't care for this at all. the flavor was okay, but the texture was mush. I even added extra breadcrumbs and fried the patties after taking them out of the over, but they were still too soft and completely fell apart. No one liked them, except my bf, who will eat anything! Would definitely NOT make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Great flavor in these burgers, but the consistency was far too soft even after trying to add significantly more breadcrumbs to help absorb excess liquid and bind better. Fell apart to much while cooking and eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Tasted good, but we had trouble with the mixture sticking while cooking. Kind of a unique consistency, too. I liked it, but my husband thought it was just so/so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Amazing Recipe. I added 2 hot red peppers when chopping vegetables and a little more spice in the eggs, and it took 1 cup of bread crumbs to get a good consistency, but these were absolutely yummy. Still a bit crumbly but it didn't matter at all. I served them with a sauce made of low fat sour cream and hot curry spice mixed together. Thanks for this fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
The vegetarians and omnivores (& my rather carnivorous husband) all raved about these - and all had seconds! A food processor made it easy to whip these up for a cook-out. This recipe is a keeper for family meals & entertaining alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
These are absolutely the BEST veggie burgers I have ever had. I totally recycled my other recipe! I made only two minor changes - I did not have any mushrooms and didn't feel like running to the store. We didn't miss them at all. I also only added one egg - I thought the consistency was perfect without adding another. This recipe ended up making 8 burgers, just the perfect size for our whole wheat buns, and am planning on freezing the remaining six. My husband and I give these a super thumbs up and can't wait until they are dinner again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
These are pretty good! Could use a little more 'bite' for me, so I will likely add fresh hot pepper next time. I think, too, that this will be one of those easily adaptable, use-up-the-leftovers type recipes. I didn't have mozzarella, so used just enough freshly grated parm for flavor. I also used 1/4 quarter each of red, yellow, and orange bells. I actually ended-up with 8 fairly large patties. I think, too, that those sensitive to eggs or eating vegan could possibly skip the egg step--mine were patty-making consistency after the cheese step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States