Best of Everything Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I tried this recipe but the patties were HUGE!, made it into 12 servings, got rid of the cheese, substituted 3 egg whites for the eggs and garlic powder for the garlic salt. Used a sodium free homemade chili powder. It is a wonderful recipe, will make this many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I did this recipe last night. I was hesitant at first thinking it would be complicated. First was amazed how easy it was to get together with what I already had. I did not grill (I live in Chicago and it was 30 degrees). I chose to bake then pan fry a bit. I also left out the chili powder and hot sauce because neither I nor my daughter can handle spicy foods. I added a tad bit of Worcestershire and Liquid Smoke to give it that grilled flavor. The rest of the recipe I followed. And they turned out very well. Mine fell apart a bit, so maybe next time I will add more egg and/or bread crumbs. But I was really impressed. I didn't miss meat at all and will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VERONADRAGON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
excellent! couldn't believe my husband thought they were really good even after he wasn't impressed with the thought of them while i was making them. I used up whatever mushrooms I had-ended up being a whole cup of shitake, and I omitted the cumin- chili powder already has cumin so i didn't want it to be too strong. increased the cheese- blend of mozza, cheddar. I used a lot more breadcrumbs as i found it hard to form into patties because it kept breaking, but once cooked and cooled, they were fine. Made way more than 6- more like 12-14 patties. We ate them with a touch of mayo, lots of avocado and tomato and they were fantastic! DIdn't even need a bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Excellent recipe!! Each time I make it, my guests are soooo amazed that a veggie burger could taste so good! Thanks for posting this great recipe. I want to make some today, but I don't have any cheese or mushrooms on hand. Hm... I'll let you know how it turns out. :) Also, instead of bread, i use ground almonds because I'm on a low carb diet. It's actually a mix of ground almonds, soybeans, and black sesame. It really gives the burgers a yummy kick!! Thanks so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I had to add double the bread crumbs, but otherwise incredible. I pan fried them on medium High for six minutes a side. Everyone was gushing about how great they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I was really excited about this recipe, followed it exactly and was not happy with the result. First of all, the cooking time is absolutely NOT long enough. In fact, I'm not sure how long they should cook, because after grilling them for over an hour, I finally moved them to bake in the oven, and another 30 minutes longer they were still mushy inside. I tried another batch with more bread crumbs and had the same problem. And second, the taste was bad. All I could taste was the chili powder, which now that I think about it, is kind of a strange spice to add so much of. Not to mention, this recipe is time consuming. I spent almost 3 hours between prep and cooking, which is just entirely too long when I have 3 hungry, cranky children waiting to be fed. And then on top of it all, they tasted bad and I ended up having to whip up something else for dinner in a hurry. I have no idea how to fix this recipe to my liking. My search will continue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe. By far the best veggie burgers I have found. I use 1 can of black beans and 1 can of red kidney beans, omit the garlic and onions (I find they do not cook well enough and the taste becomes overwhelming), and change the spices according to my mood. Most days I just add hot sauce and seasoning salt. I also use crumbles soda crackers instead of bread crumbs. Just add until the right consistency is achieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I didn't care for this at all. the flavor was okay, but the texture was mush. I even added extra breadcrumbs and fried the patties after taking them out of the over, but they were still too soft and completely fell apart. No one liked them, except my bf, who will eat anything! Would definitely NOT make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Great flavor in these burgers, but the consistency was far too soft even after trying to add significantly more breadcrumbs to help absorb excess liquid and bind better. Fell apart to much while cooking and eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Tasted good, but we had trouble with the mixture sticking while cooking. Kind of a unique consistency, too. I liked it, but my husband thought it was just so/so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States