Best of Everything Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
My vegetarian friends loved these when I made them! I made a few substitutions, as we all do, and used baby portobello mushrooms instead of regular, a yellow pepper vs. a green for sweetness, and black beans with chilies vs. regular for extra kick. When making the mixture, I definitely had to work in more than the listed amount of breadcrumbs to get these burgers to stay together... before grilling, I coated each in a light layer of olive oil a dusting of breadcrumbs. It helped keep their shape a little bit better. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chadae
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Just finished sampline one. These were ok to me. My vegetarian boyfriend really loved it! But others kinda had mixed reviews-they felt something was missing. I use cayenne pepper instead of hotsauce. My blender seemed to malfunction so I used a potato masher to crush the beans. I added seasoning to my brown rice while it cooked (goya adobo, lawrys) like how I cook regular rice. Also I added the cumin seasoning directly to the beans after I mashed them. I wished the texture was more sturdier. Maybe I shouldve drained the mixture of onions and bell peppers (was kinda watery) or perhaps fry/grill instead. I also made smaller ones for breakfast. I had to add more bread crumbs, but it kept really well in the freezer. All in all, its a great recipe-just need to tweak it a bit. No one I know eats veggie burger without lettuce, etc..so I cant wait to try these with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chadae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
These are pretty good. I cooked them in the oven because they weren't holding together very well. After I cooked them, they were still falling apart, but after letting them cool, they held together better. I might play around with the spices next time, not sure I like cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Wow! This really is the best of everything! I adjusted the amount of bread crumbs to get the right consistency, but otherwise followed all measurements. I was so impressed with the flavor! I made these for a cookout, and even some of the meat-eaters chose this over beef. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I made these for my boyfriend & I (both meat & burger lovers) when we were looking for something different. They were tasty and we both enjoyed the southwest flavor to the burgers. We left out the shredded cheese and ate with a slice of swiss instead. Also omitted the onions & green pepper. My only thought was that they were slightly too salty and I would cut back on the garlic salt and perhaps try adding chopped jalepeno for some zip in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These were very good! I used ground flax and water as egg replacer (2 tbsp flax, 6 tbsp warm water for 2 eggs), precooked frozen brown rice and omitted the cheese. I had large cloves of garlic so I only used three and I can't say I used exact measurements for the spices, but in the end it tasted right. I found the patties very easy to work with and they held together nicely, but the centers of the burgers were still pretty mushy, almost like a bean dip. Next time I'll add more bread crumbs or maybe try it with the cheese to see if that helps. But like I said, flavor was excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I really liked these veggie burgers better than any other ones that I have ever tried. I would have given it 5 stars the but the consistancy was too wet I had to keep adding more and more bread crumbs to make it work. I have made this a few times now and I add rolled oats to make them thicker. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by user

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This recipe was absolutely fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used the food processor to blend the black beans instead of mashing them by hand. I don't have a grill so I had to bake the burgers, and they needed about 15 minutes per side instead of 10 minutes like the recipe calls for. Also, I was able to make 8 decent sized patties instead of 6 as the recipe calls for. I served it with mashed avocado like some other reviews suggested. It was delicious and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These were fantastic. I baked them with excellent results. They didn't all hold together well, but most turned out perfectly. I can't wait to try making them on the barbecue this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickleGazebo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Really great veggie burgers that both my husband and I enjoyed and we are both normally meat eaters!! I halved the recipe because it was just the 2 of us and ended up still making 5 burgers out of it. Was really delicious and would have been even better topped with avocado. Yumm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States