Best of Both Worlds Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Best chicken recipe ever! I'm not a big chicken fan but I loved this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly other than adding some paprika to the skin with the other spices. This was so moist and flavorful. I wasn't sure about the garlic but put it on anyway and I'm glad I did. This was literally the best chicken I've ever eaten. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
The night before, I stuff the chicken cavity and use olive oil, paprika, garlic powder and salt and pepper - I mix it together and rub all over the skin. Take the chicken out about 30 minutes before roasting. Roast the chicken breast side down for the majority of the roasting time - then flip it over (not sure why it says to do it the other way around). The only way to get the crispy breast skin is to roast it last. Trussing the legs and wings will make it easier to flip. Also, I use 2 slices of 1 inch thick sourdough bread as trenchers to hold the chicken out of the juices. Oil the side of the bread that comes in contact with the roasting pan. My family likes to eat the bread, so I scrape it out with my spatula, slap it on some foil and crisp it up under the broiler or toaster while I make gravy with the juices in the roasting pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I've cooked my chickens and turkeys breast side down for years. The reason this works is the dark meat on the legs and bottom of the bird is denser and takes longer to cook than the white breast. Upside down, the dark meat is in the higher, hotter part of the oven (heat rises). Unwrap your chicken or turkey and leave it in the fridge over night to dry the skin and then rub your favorite fat and spices into the skin. Then there's no need to baste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This chicken was awesome! Juicy and flavorful! I paired this with glazed carrots and rice. Takes some time but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Delicious! The first time I didn't have lemon or celery but it was still delicious! I put pieces of butter under the skin with the garlic to help get it a little crispier too. I even saved the bones and made chicken soup the next day! I'm currently making it for dinner now(with the lemon and celery this time). This recipe is so flexible also. You can whatever seasonings you like! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This recipe came out even better than I even expected. I purchased a 4 lb. organic roasting chicken from Whole Foods (they also birds labeled for frying) and made this with my 9 1/2 year old son, who loves to cook (and eat!) and needed to do a family activity for a Boy Scout achievement. He read the directions (with some help from me) and did all the steps with me to prepare the bird. When it came out of the oven, he said, "Wow, we made THAT?" After a great dinner the first night, we had enough moist, flavorful meat to make a wonderful chicken and pasta salad for the next night. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Beautiful to look at and delicious to eat. Moist, juicy and very flavorful. I used half butter and half olive oil for the herb mixture to coat the chicken. Other than that, no changes. Loved the garlic flavor on the meat from the garlic being under the skin. Seriously a delicious dinner that my family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was not my favorite, personally I did not care for the garlic in this. If I make this again I will not add the garlic. Plus I thought the meat came out very dry too. I was expecting something juicier, just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Excellent recipe - I did two organic chickens in a large roasting pan. One I seasoned as directed - the other I stuffed with the onion and celery but used another seasoning mix. They were both delicious but the original recipe chicken won the taste taste. The bones are roasting as I speak - I see some good broth in my future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I made this chicken exactly as stated, no changes. One of the best roast chickens I've ever made. Our family ate the whole. darn. bird. There was nothing leftover. Next time, I will double the recipe as I think this would be great picked apart for chicken sandwiches. NOTE: I served this with Pioneer Woman's Crash Hot Potatoes and a simple vegetable platter. This was a very inexpensive meal to make but comforting and satisfying all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States