Best in Show Blackberry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is BY FAR my favorite cobbler recipe. I tripled the recipe but I added 4 Cups of Blackberried, 2 Cups of Raspberries and 1 Cup of Blueberries. The colors difference in the berries made it very pretty. Great when it's warm with Vanilla ice cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I had never made cobbler this way, and I have to admit that I was sure the instructions were written wrong, because the whole thing is assembled upside down. I went ahead and did it anyway since the reviews were so good, and it was amazing! Great flavor, and it was a yummy way to use the marionberries from our garden. I'm going to let my girls help me next time--it was almost like magic to put a virtual "lake" of berries and sugar and water in the oven and have a scrumptious dessert emerge an hour later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I thought this was pretty good. The only components of a cobbler are sweetened fruit and a cake like part, so they have to be sweetened just right. I have some mystery berries growing in my yard that appear to be mulberries or boysenberries and used those. After I began the recipe I was worried at first it was too much sugar, but tried it as is and it wasn't too overly sweet tasting onced it was baked. It was done in 45 minutes. It tasted good with some whipped cream and would probably be also good with a little ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I love this recipe! It's so easy. I made only 2 changes, I used butter instead of margarine and the second time I made it, I added a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I have made it twice in the last week and it was great both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwbilliejo1975

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maysville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wellington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I also received a similar recipe passed down from my Mother and Grandmother. I have used it with all kinds of summer fruits and it has always turned out great. It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, but for some reason it didn't turn out quite right. I expected there to be a nice blackberry sauce on the bottom and the cake on top, but I ended up with a thick layer of clear gelatinized sugar on the bottom because the blackberries did not sink. They were almost all floating on top of the cake part. I guess blackberries don't generate much juice, because there was none when I baked these that were freshly picked a few minutes before. That said, the flavor was terrific - I added a bit of vanilla to the cake recipe. If anyone has a suggestion for something I may have done wrong, I'd be happy to read about it. I would like this recipe to work for me. We have a lot of berries growing on our property and it is a simple recipe, but it's not like what MY Mom used to make!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Good taste. I made it in a 8x8 pan & only added a 1/2 cup of water and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Very much like the cobbler recipe my mother and granny taught me to make as a child. We put the fruit, sugar, and water and half a stick of butter in a pot and just brought to a boil before pouring over the batter. Batter rises to the top just like in this recipe. I use any fruit but love it with peaches as I grew up near a great peach area in SC...Linda51
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Delicious, fast and easy. I doubled the recipe. Thanks Judy for posting this. Added this to my printed recipe book of tried and true favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe! I have used it alot in the past year. I live in Japan where you just don't get good stuff like blackberry cobler, unless you make it. So far I have use this recipe to make blackberry, blueberry, and mixed berry cobler . All of them came out GREAT! I didn't change a thing, only the cooking times veried. With this recipe I just watch the crust, when it is golden brown, it's done. None of my coblers have lasted more than 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Blackberry Cobbler II

Watch how to make this easy dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States