Best in Show Blackberry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I made this with frozen blackberries that we had picked locally. It needed a little more time to cook because they were frozen. I also threw in a handful of fresh blueberries because 2 cups didn't seem like enough fruit and did not near cover the pan. The blueberries were a nice addition, I would do that again. I substituted 1/2 cup oat flour and real butter rather than margarine to make it healthier. It turned out a little glutinous, but I'm going to blame that on the oat flour, not taking any stars away for that. I did think it was too sweet, even with the tart blackberries. Next time I would only use 3/4 cup sugar, maybe less if I used a sweeter kind of berry. My 4 yr old wouldn't eat it, but my 1 yr old loved it with cream on top. All in all a good recipe and I am sure I will use it again. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Made this tonight for the first time just to use up some blackberries we had on hand, and my husband declared it "the best cobbler ever." Thanks so much for sharing, this has been added to the short list of favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slocomb, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bonifay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I found the filling ended up being a little waxy once it cooled off which I was not crazy about. Everyone else seemed to like it at the time but when I mentioned what I thought, the person I was talking to agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Giles Hester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 2jaysand4tees
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Loved this as a mom of 4 little ones, this was super EASY! Hubbie gave it a 10!!! Thanks for sharing!! I did add a total of 2 cups of sugar. Made it sweeter, and used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2jaysand4tees

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
perfect - thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
delicious! maybe a little cinnamon next time but really good. made it with blueberries since they were on sale that week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This was a delicious cobbler. I had many compliments from my guests. It gave a lovely presentation as well with ice cream. It dried out somewhat in the fridge overnight despite being covered but a little warming in the microwave and it was again moist and delicious. Can't think of any changes I would make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This dessert had a great taste. However, I would not call the consistency "cobbler". It had a much more cake-like texture than my usual cobbler recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, and my family did enjoy the dessert, but because I enjoy a more dense cobbler, I will stick to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I was really excited to make this recipe but it wasn't very good - the top ends up being this gel substance. I did like that it wasn't too sweet but I'll continue to look for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is BY FAR my favorite cobbler recipe. I tripled the recipe but I added 4 Cups of Blackberried, 2 Cups of Raspberries and 1 Cup of Blueberries. The colors difference in the berries made it very pretty. Great when it's warm with Vanilla ice cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Blackberry Cobbler II

Watch how to make this easy dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States