Best in Show Blackberry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Best cobbler EVER!!! So easy too! The only thing I did different is use 1/2 cup of water. But I will never use a different cobbler recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I bake often, and usually have a really high success rate with new recipes. However, this one was completely inedible when it came out of the oven. First of all, it didn't bake well. I left it in the oven for much longer than the recipe indicated, and it still didn't bake all the way through. I had to leave the house, and took it out of the oven after at least an hour and a half, and it still wasn't done. The bottom was a gelatinous bed of goop. It was slick, shiny and gloppy. It didn't look at all like a cobbler, cake, or anything baked. I read some of the other less positive reviews, and saw that many others experienced the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Very nice recipe, similar to a handed-down one I had. From knowledge of the other, I took about 1/3 of the sugar that goes on top and added it to my fresh picked berries. Some were a little hard, so I slightly mashed them & simmered them for a few minutes with a pinch of nutmeg added to the sugar to make a juice. Excellent batter, and we liked the juice that formed at the bottom. Can't wait to try this recipe with other berries and cherries-thank you for sharing your time-honored family secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mannford, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I never made cobbler before so i was skeptical of pouring the water on the top but it turned out fine on the top... the bottom on the other hand was a jelly-like consistency that I wasn't fond of. Overall I still ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is the only cobbler recipe I will ever use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great! I had frozen blackberries, so it took a bit longer to bake. I also cut the sugar sprinkled on the top by more than half, it would have been way too sweet otherwise! Put in a dash of lemon juice and nutmeg in the dough, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We made this exactly as written and it just wasn't a sweet dish. It tasted more like breakfast than dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I've made this twice and it didn't turn out very good either time. I followed the instructions carefully both times so I don't know why it wasn't good. Will not try a third time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I was a bit skeptical about this recipe bc it was so easy, but after reading some reviews I decided to give it a shot. Very good!! The only modifications I made were adding about a tsp of cinnamon to the sugar and flour mix, and I also used a bag of frozen mixed berries instead of only black berries. Oh and I used 3/4 c of water and 1/4 butter mixed together at the end there. the crust is nice and carmelized on the top giving it that little crisp and there is such a good amount of crust throughout. i recommend trying it, theres a reason it won prizes right? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Good, not exceptional
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Blackberry Cobbler II

Watch how to make this easy dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States