Best Zucchini Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I made this and it was great. The second time I made it; I grated the zucchini and it came out much better - easier to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
We loved it! I used the reduce fat Bisquick baking mix. I cut the oil back to 1/3 cup. I also added two large garlic cloves, finely chopped. This is a great recipe to take as pot-luck dish. When I made this a second time I split the batter up and put bacon in half, and lighly sauted mushrooms in the other - but I baked it in the same dish (1/2 and 1/2). This is a no fail recipe. I tried to cut the oil back to 1/4 cup, but it turned out to be too dry - the 1/3 cup is best. I would also add a 1/2 tsp. of dried basil or oregano, for variation. This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This recipe is very similar to one that my mother-in-law passed down to us. The only difference is that we use 1/2 cup parmesan instead of the cheddar cheese. I like to use egg substitute, and I always peel and shred the zucchini. I also cut the oil in half, and my family actually prefers the lighter version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
To me a 4.5 star recipe is one that needs almost no tweaking to be divine and that is just not the case here. I made it as suggested and it was just bland. I have no idea how this dish would be cut into "bite sized appetizers" or made to look like the pretty photo included. Perhaps if you took all of the changes that other reviewers suggest it would be memorable but then it would be an entirely different recipe. It is a good base concept and a new way to use zucchini so I liked that. I may try it again with lots of changes. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
I added a 1/2 tsp dry mustard, a 1/4 tsp curry powder, about 1/2 cup Italian seasoned tomatoes that were left over from another dinner, then added a handful of fresh herbs from my garden.....some Italian parsely, dill, oregano. I added a bit more garlic. I also used green onion instead of regular onion, then threw in about two TBSP more of the baking mix so it wouldn't be too mushy. The end result was very pleasing, and the dinner party guests all raved about the appetizer. Personally, the jury is still out, but I am going to freeze the leftovers, and serve it at my next party in a few weeks.Can't argue with the masses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
The whole family loved it!! Made it in the morning and by lunch time it was gone. I added about 2 tsp. of chopped jalapenos to it, as we like our food with a bite! Great for an appetizer or anytime snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I made these for a party as an hors'deouvres and they were SO bland. All you could taste was egg and zucchini. Maybe for brunch these would be okay, but not as an appetizer at a cocktail party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This is sooooo good. I made it once to take to a Baby Shower and I have made it 6 times since and everyone asked for the recipe. Everyone is very good at keeping me supplied with the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Tried it and liked it. Made some adjustments that my family likes. We even serve this as the Main course. I decreased the oil to 1/4 of a cup. And I added 2 heaping tablespoons of Feta cheese! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I'm glad it wasn't just me! As an appetizer it was way too bland. I added 1 cup of cheese and will add more salt, Tabasco and "spice it up". I also baked it 35-40 minutes. The concept was good and I'll do it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Junction City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Party Appetizer

These marinated rounds of goat cheese are bursting with flavor.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States