Best Zucchini Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Great appetizer recipe! I put the batter in my mini cupcakes pan (instead of the square cuts U get from a pan). I did grate the zucchini & drained on paper towel. I added lots of habenero's for extra hot flavor and sprinled parmesan cheese on top when just about cooked! I brought to a family party and were gone in no time...Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
First off let me apologize for this review. I did not make this recipe as submitted. I needed to get rid of some of my peter pan summer squash and decided to tweak this for a veggie side dish for dinner. How it turned out it could very well be used as an appetizer. But with my modifications, it turned out fantastic. Even my non-veggie eaters devoured this before anything else on their dinner plate. First off, the 36 servings makes a small side dish so don't be afraid to do that amount. It seemed like too much at first so I cut it down to 18 but ended up adding back in to get the 36 servings. I shredded 3 large peter pan squash (also known as summer squash)to get 3 cups squash. Used only 1/3 cup oil as others suggested. Used green chives (both the white and green parts) instead of white. Used parmesan cheese instead of the cheddar. And here's what I think made the dish. I used two 4 ounce cans of diced green chili peppers. I also added thinly sliced green bell peppers in the batter and layed on top for a nice presentation. I also sprinkled the top with parmesan cheese and paprika. And we served it with Franks hot sauce for dipping. Those are the keys to this being fantastic. The diced chili peppers added huge flavor to this dish. And the dipping sauce sealed the deal. This did turn out like a quiche dish so cut the eggs down to two if you want a more decadent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanNoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Definitely had a great taste - I received a lot of compliments. However, I don't know how we're expected to cut this into "bites". I cut it into squares and served more as a side dish or a casserole. Bake time is definitely longer than posted - about 15 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
OK. I will shred the zucchini next time though and add some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
add cheese on top. Cook a little longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
very good but i would add a bit more baking mix and sprinkle some cheese on the top. otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Use lots of squash...lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I love it and it is a good snack to bring to a picnic. I will definitly make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This recipe is incredible. A great healthy way to use up all the zucchini I have on hand this time of year. Once cooled and cut they store well and last for a week, if you can get people to let them last that long. I will make this recipe again and again. I highly recommend it. The picture having melted cheese on top is a bit misleading but an easy fix for any one with a lick of cooking sense. Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Great use for surplus zucchini! I always look for new interesting ways to use my garden bounty. I used a wheat and gluten-free baking mix because of allergy. GF Baking requires a bit more liquid so I added half a cup of low-fat milk. Did reduce oil to 1/3 c. It was delicious. For a maindish the next time I added half a pound of browned ground turkey and a pinch of Italian seasoning. This is a keeper. I put a bottle of hot sauce on the table so everyone could spice it up or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Party Appetizer

These marinated rounds of goat cheese are bursting with flavor.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States