Best Ziti Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very tasty and easy to make. We will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Very good Ziti, make sure you dont add any extra pasta, it will dry it out especially when your reheating left overs. I like it creamy and cheesy and usually cook ziti, and lasagna then let it cool then reheat it again to serve. The flavor is always better second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
After all my mother was Italian and it is a no no to use jar sauce. You can but the real italian resturants don't and is worth the extra effort to make your own! This was fantastic. I made my own gravy (sauce) from scratch with olive oil,garlic, fresh basil,ground black pepper, little fresh oregano, fresh basil from the garden, 1/4 cup red wine (chianti) crushed tomatoes. locatelli cheese and tomatoe paste (I don't like jar sauce)then I followed all the instructions except I used half pound of semolina ziti and a half pound of whole wheat penne cooked ala dente (9 minutes). I also used 1 full pound of ricotta, plus sharp provolene, grated romano, locotelli and 1lb mozzarella and cooked 1 hour at 350. My sausauge was real italian with fennel. and on the top more 4 cheese and a lot of fresh basil fron the garden. Turned out fantastic! We always serve this with a mixture of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, oregano, fresh garlic & garlic powder. a little hot pepper, salt , fresh ground pepper and fresh tomatoes cut in quaters and fresh italian bread for dipping in the oil mixture. Served with red wine we like Chianti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was really delicious, but I had to keep correcting my family when they referred to is as "lasagna" instead of ziti! The only thing I did differently was to "doctor up" the jarred marinara sauce by sauteing fresh minced garlic, finely chopped onion, green pepper & mushrooms in the saucepan before adding the sauce & basil. I also threw in about 2 T. of grated Parmesan cheese. I let the sauce simmer about 20 minutes while I prepared the rest of the ingredients, then assembled & baked as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Absolutely delish as is! I didn't change anything and we loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krys_L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Freeport, Bahamas
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Could have used more sauce for my taste; a bit dry. Will make note of that and do next time.Did like the addition of ricotta; never used in baked ziti before. I did add cayenne because we like hot foods. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
My son was craving the baked ziti he had while living in an Italian neighborhood in New Jersey. He gave this recipe two thumbs up! It's so quick and easy, with few ingredients but it's a really good comfort food dish. I've prepared this recipe many times, often when I have dinner guests on short notice, and it always gets rave reviews. We like it best with spicy Italian sausage and fresh basil in the layers with the dried basil on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
All my kids liked it, including the 5 year old who normally only eats pb & j! Very good, even though I only had 2 cups of Italian Blend cheese on hand to use in place of the mozzarella and used the whole container (15 oz) of Ricotta. I also simmered the sauce, basil and sausage together after draining the meat, which saved a pan and made layering simple. Thanks for a family pleasing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This is by far the best ziti recipe ever! Ricotta cheese makes this! I would not change a thing its awesome! Better than the others on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grafton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Inkster, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Meh. Made as directed, but I guess I like the sour cream and provolone baked ziti recipes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States