Best Ziti Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Recipe is "okay" the way it is written but a few sight adjustments will make this simple dish really good. First, cook pasta only about 5 minutes and let the sauce (yes you will need more than what is called for here) soak into and finish cooking the pasta in the oven. Use 4-5 cups of a good sauce. Use 15oz Ricotta and add 2 Tablespoons of Olive Oil (go ahead and put the basil here instead of the sauce)and add about 1/3 cup parmesan to the mixture, forget the Italian seasoning expecially if you are using a good seasoned sauce. Increase mozzarella to taste but be sure to sprinkle the top with about 1/4 cup parmesan too. For those that complained about using several pots, simply use the pasta pot to cook the sausage after you have dumped the pasta out, then put the sausage aside and heat your sauce in that same pot. Still find it a bit bland? Add about 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes to the sausage while browning. And yes, a pound of pasta, pound of sausage, over 3 cups of cheeses, plus several cups of sauce layered into a 9X13 pan is definitely going to make more than 4 serving...LOL...just read the recipes and do the math.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
OMG - so good. The ricotta made me think of lasagna. I made one slight change by using hot turkey Italian sausage. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiger Didi
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I've never made anything like this before, using the ricotta was so nice. Of course anyone can change the recipe to make it low fat, but what's the point? Just dont eat 2nds ! It's fantastic as is, and yes we put away several containers in the freezer - I'm always happy to have fabulous left overs later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
We eat a lot of varied Italian foods and our family was very disappointed after reading all the rave reviews. Dry despite the 48oz of sauce (and I prefer less sauce as a rule) and devoid of flavor. My college aged son and I perused many ziti recipes and zeroed in on this one r/t revues. Onto the ziti recipe with provolone and or the mixed Italian cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
it was very good. I added fire roasted tomos hunts and a little can of mushrooms one jar of marinara sauce and one of reg. seg. sauce. half red bell pepper,half green bell pepper. because my husband does not like sauce that is too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Powell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe is very good. Like everyone who enjoys to cook, I made little changes to make it my own, but this recipe will stand on it own. This makes a huge amount; it freezes well. There are only two of us, so we had dinner, then froze the rest for a quick meal here and there. It was nice to have something other than a plain old sandwich for lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeanutButterJellyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by nakia
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving. My family absolutely loved it. I used ground beef instead of sausage and changed the serving size. This is something that I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikeusnfr
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Outstanding, exactly what I was hoping for. Had family over and was nervous for making it the first time since they all have different tastes. Everyone loved it including me. Definitely a keeper, will be adding this to my favorites. I found a recipe here Best Marinara Yet, now I always make my sauce by this recipe(plus add 1 can tomato paste). I always read the reviews which make this site unique and the best. So I took the advice and used Turkey Italian Sausage instead, sauteed 1 diced onion, 2 cloves chopped garlic, and 1/2 a red pepper with the sausage. I also added a light coat of shredded parmesan cheese. Served with a garden salad and Garlic Bread. Could not be more pleased. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very tasty and easy to make. We will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Very good Ziti, make sure you dont add any extra pasta, it will dry it out especially when your reheating left overs. I like it creamy and cheesy and usually cook ziti, and lasagna then let it cool then reheat it again to serve. The flavor is always better second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States