Best Ziti Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
We eat a lot of varied Italian foods and our family was very disappointed after reading all the rave reviews. Dry despite the 48oz of sauce (and I prefer less sauce as a rule) and devoid of flavor. My college aged son and I perused many ziti recipes and zeroed in on this one r/t revues. Onto the ziti recipe with provolone and or the mixed Italian cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
it was very good. I added fire roasted tomos hunts and a little can of mushrooms one jar of marinara sauce and one of reg. seg. sauce. half red bell pepper,half green bell pepper. because my husband does not like sauce that is too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Powell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe is very good. Like everyone who enjoys to cook, I made little changes to make it my own, but this recipe will stand on it own. This makes a huge amount; it freezes well. There are only two of us, so we had dinner, then froze the rest for a quick meal here and there. It was nice to have something other than a plain old sandwich for lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeanutButterJellyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by nakia
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving. My family absolutely loved it. I used ground beef instead of sausage and changed the serving size. This is something that I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikeusnfr
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Outstanding, exactly what I was hoping for. Had family over and was nervous for making it the first time since they all have different tastes. Everyone loved it including me. Definitely a keeper, will be adding this to my favorites. I found a recipe here Best Marinara Yet, now I always make my sauce by this recipe(plus add 1 can tomato paste). I always read the reviews which make this site unique and the best. So I took the advice and used Turkey Italian Sausage instead, sauteed 1 diced onion, 2 cloves chopped garlic, and 1/2 a red pepper with the sausage. I also added a light coat of shredded parmesan cheese. Served with a garden salad and Garlic Bread. Could not be more pleased. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very tasty and easy to make. We will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Very good Ziti, make sure you dont add any extra pasta, it will dry it out especially when your reheating left overs. I like it creamy and cheesy and usually cook ziti, and lasagna then let it cool then reheat it again to serve. The flavor is always better second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
After all my mother was Italian and it is a no no to use jar sauce. You can but the real italian resturants don't and is worth the extra effort to make your own! This was fantastic. I made my own gravy (sauce) from scratch with olive oil,garlic, fresh basil,ground black pepper, little fresh oregano, fresh basil from the garden, 1/4 cup red wine (chianti) crushed tomatoes. locatelli cheese and tomatoe paste (I don't like jar sauce)then I followed all the instructions except I used half pound of semolina ziti and a half pound of whole wheat penne cooked ala dente (9 minutes). I also used 1 full pound of ricotta, plus sharp provolene, grated romano, locotelli and 1lb mozzarella and cooked 1 hour at 350. My sausauge was real italian with fennel. and on the top more 4 cheese and a lot of fresh basil fron the garden. Turned out fantastic! We always serve this with a mixture of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, oregano, fresh garlic & garlic powder. a little hot pepper, salt , fresh ground pepper and fresh tomatoes cut in quaters and fresh italian bread for dipping in the oil mixture. Served with red wine we like Chianti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was really delicious, but I had to keep correcting my family when they referred to is as "lasagna" instead of ziti! The only thing I did differently was to "doctor up" the jarred marinara sauce by sauteing fresh minced garlic, finely chopped onion, green pepper & mushrooms in the saucepan before adding the sauce & basil. I also threw in about 2 T. of grated Parmesan cheese. I let the sauce simmer about 20 minutes while I prepared the rest of the ingredients, then assembled & baked as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Absolutely delish as is! I didn't change anything and we loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krys_L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Freeport, Bahamas

Displaying results 21-30 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States