Best Ziti Ever with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made this using ground turkey instead of sausage to cut down a little on fat. I also made my own tomato sauce, and added some parmesan and an egg to the ricotta, then layered the whole thing like you would lasagna. I really liked the ease of assembly, versus lasagna which takes forever. I froze part of it for later, and it froze wonderfully. Such a good, easy casserole that can be made ahead of time. I adjusted seasonings a lot to suit our tastes, and used fresh garlic and onion, but the idea was the same. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Easy and really flavorful. I used parmesean and an egg in with the ricotta. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Made lots. Family wanted more sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by awfullyrad
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
YES! So yummy. Make it! Few changes I made: Add chopped onion, garlic and green pepper to the (hot italian) sausage when browning. Also used fresh basil in the sauce instead of dried. That's it. So freakin' good, I will definitely make this again - in place of boring old pasta and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awfullyrad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Yum! I'm lazy and left the casing on, sliced the sausage, cut down on the cheese (only because we were short - we LOVE cheese around here), and used fresh basil instead of dried, and it was awesome! I think it would have been just as good if I had made it per the recipe. Easy, filling crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msghd
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This recipe was fantastic. Everyone gave it a five and wants me to make it again. I added some more spices and some parmesan cheese along with the mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Used sliced sausage sauteed with diced onion because that is what we had on hand. Next time, we would put some oregano, garlic, and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was exceptional, love the sausage in it. I am not usually a huge fan of italian but this will be one that we make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Delicious, easy and just the right amount of seasoning. My boyfriend and family loved it. I was unsure about using the Classico sauce but it was as good as homemade. I used fresh basil instead of dried. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I made this dish for my Bunco group last night. They all raved about it and I had to print off copies for everyone! The only thing I would do differently next time would be to lay a piece of foil on top of the pan next time I bake it. My cheese got kind of dark. Could have been my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States