Best Yet Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Here's the modifications I made: Eliminated cinnamon/ Increased all other spices to 1 tbs./ Added 1 tbs. minced garlic/ Added sprinkle of garlic powder. It was delicious! Hearty and chunky with just the right amount of zip.I served it with shredded cheddar cheese on top. Beware: This recipe makes an enormous vat - so use your biggest skillet or pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaileesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I browned the ground turkey 1st in a non-stick pan & then drained it. I then took it out of the pan, added a little olive oil to the pan, & sauteed a chopped onion with the green pepper. I used frozen corn & added a cup of water as I prefer it with a little more liquid. Also I added more seasoning as a "pinch" of the seasonings made it too bland. Next time, I'll make a double batch & put it in individual sized frozen containers that I can bring to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I made this chili over the weekend, and my husband and I really loved it! I thought the choice of spices was different, but it was very tasty! I didn't have black beans in the cupboard so used red kidney beans and it was very good. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remington, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Easy and super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This chili is great on its own, but for variation I add a corn bread topping. Just follow Rachel's instructions, but simmer for only 5 min so the beans do not over cook. Pour the chili into a large casserole dish and then spread corn bread mix on top (I use 2 packages of Jiffy, skip the oil to keep healthy). Tent with tin foil and bake for 45min-1 hour in the oven (I usually remove the tin foil after 30 min so the top gets brown). This is a great recipe for busy weeknights as you can prepare the chili days in advance, then add corn bread mix and bake when you're ready to eat and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I fixed this chili for supper and we really enjoyed it. I didn't have canned corn, so I used frozen corn and it worked fine. I'm always looking for recipes using ground turkey, and this one is a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Ok - my review is based on customizations so I cannot give my true score, but the overall combination of flavors was not our favorite. I enjoyed it after the first few bites, but my wife, who loves chili, did not. We took the other reviews and went with a tablespoon of the spices...except we kept the tablespoon of cinnamon! Too sweet! However, even with the others, we felt it was a good heat level but lacked depth of flavor. Might try again sticking to the recipe, but not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is a great recipe to start with. I made some modifications like other readers - no cinnamon, no bell pepper, drained the beans, and used frozen corn. I used a small amount of ground red cayenne pepper. My 1 year old loved it (don't worry I took his portions out before I kicked up the chili powder :). I will definitely make this again but have to do something to add some heat to my portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Gave 4 stars only because I felt like I needed to add alot to it. I added one small onion, a clove of garlic, 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika, 1 small can tomato sauce and I used used frozen sweet corn in place of canned. I omitted the bell pepper and cinnamon. I also drained the black beans. My husband likes sweet chili so I added 1 tsp of sugar and some salt and pepper to taste. After the revisions I'd give it 5 stars. Served with tortilla chips and a little sour cream. Over all good base recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this for a lunch for some family that was coming over. Everyone really enjoyed it, although I added a lot of salt, and approximately one tablespoon of garlic pepper. Great recipe!! I will definitely make this again when I want NO leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Laura G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Mexican Turkey Chili

What's cooking in San Jose? Valerie makes a hearty Mexican-style turkey chili.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States