Best Yet Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
WOW...this chili is amazing! The cinnamon is definitely what makes it. It gives it an amazing flavor! I did change it just a little...First I added 1/2 an onion chopped up with the green pepper and turkey. I also added 2 cloves of garlic, minced to the mix. I didn't have any cumin so I just left that out. After reading the other reviews that it lacked spice, I bought canned diced tomatoes with jalapenos. This gave it a great kick for me, but was a little too spicy for everyone else. Don't be afraid of the cinnamon...I even added a little more! I also let mine simmer for about an hour before eating and freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
My husband and I are on a low cholesterol diet and this recipe filled the bill. We both thought it was excellent, full of flavor. I did add onion and extra amounts of the seasoning. Also, I like more liquid so instead of adding water I added 1 cup of low-sodium tomato juice. I will definitately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very tasty. I sauteed one yellow onion with the turkey, and added two small cans of diced jalapeno instead of the bell pepper because I like it hot. Next time, I think I will add a can of kidney beans because I like more beans in my chili. I also simmered it for three hours instead of the half hour called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Excellent recipe and quick. It is a bit bland as-is in my opinion because the lean ground turkey doesn't have a lot of flavor. I added 3tbs. chili powder, 1tbs. cumin, 1tbs. red pepper and just a dash of cinnamon. I cooked it in a slow cooker on low for several hours which gave the flavors a chance to marry. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
IR loved it - sweet tasking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Great! Based on reviews, I spiced it up with 2 tbs chili powder, 1 tbs cummin, and 1 tbs red pepper. Served with shredded cheese and crushed tortilla chips. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Recipe has potential, but VERY bland as-is. We added a lot more garlic powder, a whole tablespoon of chili powder, onion powder and salt. Modified like this I might give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I've made this recipe a few times now. My family loves it. It is very easy to make and smells so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This was really good, and I would make again. I did use lean ground beef instead of ground turkey. I also added an onion and a couple cloves of minced garlic. I also needed to add more of the spices to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Loved this simple chili! I agree about not following the amount of spices...taste as you go and tweak as needed. I ate with white corn tortillas and a scoop of sour cream. Soooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Mexican Turkey Chili

What's cooking in San Jose? Valerie makes a hearty Mexican-style turkey chili.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States