Best Yet Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
easy to make and filling. It makes a large meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was ok. I think it's convenient when you are on a college budget and there is nothing else, that is filling yet healthy, available. What I would do to "jazz" up the recipe is add shredded turkey instead of ground, and then add more vegetables with a 'zing' such as onion. Also, I would hold off on serving it until the next day. The tomatoes ,which were previously in a jar, are still overpowering the soup until the next day. Otherwise I'm sure cutting up fresh tomatoes in the soup would be ok eating that same day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzythebutterfly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I have to say that my son and I loved the chili. Thanks for sharing. I've made it twice. First time used 1tbs of seasoning (very hot but good) the second (less). I used canned chili beans too. My kind of meal - fast and delicious! Newbie to the kitchen--that is the cooking part lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe base to modify for tastes! I added salt, pepper, and a sprinkle of oregano to the turkey meat, along with double the amount of the other dry ingredients (except cinnamon, which I added later.) When the meat was almost done, I added 1 diced onion, 2 cloves of garlic, and a sliced jalapeno. I pushed the turkey to the sides of the pot and created a roux (some flour cooked with with oil) to thicken the sauce, then added everything else. I wanted to add more dimension, so I added a cup of leftover coffee, a dash each of liquid smoke and Worcestershire sauce. Simmer to concentrate flavors! For picky kids: my co-worker said that she always adds macaroni noodles to chili so her kids will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Didn't use the cinnamon. The kids didn't like it much, but we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This chili is great on its own, but for variation I add a corn bread topping. Just follow Rachel's instructions, but simmer for only 5 min so the beans do not over cook. Pour the chili into a large casserole dish and then spread corn bread mix on top (I use 2 packages of Jiffy, skip the oil to keep healthy). Tent with tin foil and bake for 45min-1 hour in the oven (I usually remove the tin foil after 30 min so the top gets brown). This is a great recipe for busy weeknights as you can prepare the chili days in advance, then add corn bread mix and bake when you're ready to eat and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Super good and super fast! Cooked the ground turkey with an onion (no pepper in the house) and then put the spices in before adding beans, corn, and tomatoes. I just got habanero chili powder, which smelled great and was nice to use. I used a smaller can of tomatoes and about 1/2 jar of salsa to make up for the liquid. I also added some sliced jalapenos and used about 1 1/2 tsp. of cumin and about 1 T. of the chili powder. Let it cook for about 2 hours and it was a big hit. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
We moved into a new apartment a few days ago, therefore the only thing we had in the freezer was ground turkey, but had plenty of canned goods in the pantry, so this recipe fit our needs. I left out the green pepper and added a chopped yellow onion. I only had a 15 oz can of black beans, so i added a 15 oz can of kidney beans, and drained and rinsed both to get rid of the high sodium content. I added a splash of low sodium chicken broth to make up for the liquid lost from the beans. Upped the spices as suggested, except for the cinnamon which remained as just a pinch. The recipe does state "a pinch, or to taste", so not a deviation. I did add a pinch or two of corn starch to thicken the sauce a bit, as we don't like our chili liquidy at all. We served this over rice and it was great. For the ease of preparation, I give this 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Used 1t of chili powder and cumin, 1/2t of oregano and red pepper flakes. Also used one can of tomatos/chili pepper mix and one can of fire roasted diced tomatos. Still fairly bland; would probably up the spices by another teaspoon if made again. Since we used freshly cooked beans and frozen corn, added 2C of chicken stock and left the lid off for the last 20 min of cooking. This is a good turkey chili, but nothing to really make it stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Surprisingly good considering the simplicity of the ingredients. Husband really liked it, another plus. I will strongly recommend that one wait until the last few minutes of cook time to add the spices. Most of us use not so fresh grocery store spices which have already lost much of their flavor and aroma. Hence, adding them at the beginning will cook off what little flavor is left. Add the spices in stages if desired and depending on how long you plan on simmering the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Mexican Turkey Chili

What's cooking in San Jose? Valerie makes a hearty Mexican-style turkey chili.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States