Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2000
Very easy to reduce. Tasted wonderful on "Welfare Cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
This icing is the best and super easy to make! I use it on everything from cakes to cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
I have only used this icing once so far, and already have requests for the recipe. I used the half shortning half butter suggestion and used it on a carrot cake! Excellent icing, it is all I will use from now on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2000
This was great frosting! It was fast, easy, and VERY yummy! I'm never using another white frosting recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2000
This frosting was fast and easy and made a beautiful, white frosting. I added food coloring to some reserved frosting and piped decorations with it. Worked great. It tasted good, too. Even my husband liked it, and he hates frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
This icing is teriffic! I used the half butter, half shortning directions. It is quick to make and tastes GREAT! My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
This frosting was very good and very easy to make!!!! I will definitly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2001
This icing was just perfect with the Moist Yellow cake recipe. For the shortening I did half butter and half Crisco. My co-workers could not believe the taste. I also added a little more water. This recipe will be my frosting recipe for all my baked goods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
I used this frosting to make a traditional coconut cake, and I think this frosting worked well with the coconut. This may sound odd, because the cocnut was sweetened, but the coconut actually helped cut the sweetness of the frosting. Without the cocnut, I wouldn't have liked this recipe nearly as much because I don't care for the greasy mouth feel of vegetable shortening. For this reason, I opted to use half butter and was very glad I did. I was afraid the butter would tint the frosting yellow, but even using half butter kept it white. The recipe suggested cutting the frosting with water or corn syrup if using as a regular cake layer spread, but I liked it just as is. If my frostings are not extremely thick, they tend to run away from me on the cake and I lose control. Besides, my motto is, if it doesn't have an inch of frosting on it, it's not really cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
MmmmMMmmm! This frosting really is white! I love to cook and my younger cousins love to cook with me. Usually I dont let them help because they make a mess but this was sooo easy and quick and tasted great (cousins ate it out of the bowl hehe). I recommend this recipe to anyone that has low ingredients and wants a get tasting frosting thats easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States