Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbyschmid3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Best icing I have ever made. Easy to make, tastes wonderful and looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
A good alternative to buttercream. I used butter flavored Crisco. I do agree with other reviewers who say it's a bit too sweet, so I plan on playing with adding less sugar next time. But one successful variation is "White Raspberry", which means you add 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1 1/2 tsps raspberry flavor instead of just vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I just made this icing to ice cupcakes! I added two tablespoons of water to make it a bit thinner, mixed it by hand with a fork and then added 3 big tablespoons of natural smooth peanut-butter - and let me tell you, people - it is SO GOOD!! i shredded a little dark espresso chocolate over top and we now have a kitchen full of gourmet cupcakes to enjoy! YUM! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I can see this being a useful decoration icing... but... if you are looking for flavor, it is not very sweet or creamy and the shortening gives it strage taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made this minus the vanilla extract plus a little bit of sour cream and a little melted butter and milk instead of water and it worked out very well. I didn't use a hand mixer, only a fork and it didn't quite look like the frosting in the picture but I was able to drizzle it nicely on my cake. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This really is the best icing, really easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was very good, but I didn't have shortening, and so I put margarine in it. At first I didn't know that you were suppose to whip it for 5 min. but after I did do that, it was great. It wasn't white, because of the margarine but it was GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
By the time you alter this recipe to make it palatable, you would be better off using another one, or one of your own. I followed all directions to the tee, but this recipe, left a lot to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States