Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I used this recipe for the first time yesterday. It was very good. I did add an extra 1/2tsp of vanilla extract. I used real vanilla extract, not the clear imitation. So it had an ivory color. The texture was perfect. It received many compliments from my guests. I'd definitely use it again. As some others stated it was very sweet. That is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I think the suggestion to use 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter with some salt made this recipe absolutely perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This recipe made me happy & unhappy. I followed suggestions, subbed half butter (salted). Also, used half & half instead of water - so it would remain stable but soft. Ended up adding 4 3/4c sugar - a pound basically. Also added a scant fourth almond extract & scant fourth salt. Well, yum frosting. Similar to bakery/birthday cake type, BUT NOT WHITE WITH BUTTER. 'Should've known better, I agree. 'Followed review on that one, too. It looks white compared to butter frosting, sure; but if we're talking color? It isn't. I "need" PANDA WHITE. I am not kidding. :) This isn't panda white. It appears there will be more than one cake in my future. Oh, mine yielded about 3 1/2cups w a little help from the electric mixer. I don't see how 4 - 5 are possible unless you reeeeeallly whip it. 'Guess ya could. Oh, a little 411 if you're new to frosting: Whipping will lighten the color - artificial or not. Next day: 'Tried making whitewhite frosting w/o butter, subbing sour cream & shortening. Not good. Even added 2T butter & still, not good. 'Ended up using this lessthanPandawhite frosting & everyone liked it. I'll keep looking for white that you can eat though! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Wonderful recipe, soft and creamy a little gritty but still yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
My daughter made this recipe last week for some cupcakes she was baking. She did all the research and cooking on her own so I didn't even see the recipe for the frosting ahead of time. I tasted it as she was frosting the cupcakes and did not like it at all. I took one look at the recipe and figured out why - all shortening? It had that chemical taste to it (and the shortening was not old) plus it was incredibly sweet. While it did have a good texture for frosting, I prefer something that has a butter base. Only one out of my four kids liked the frosting - the others scraped it off. Interesting to note that of the few reviews I read that give it 4/5 stars, they ALTERED the recipe and used at least a portion of butter. I hate when people change the recipe around, but still give it 4/5 stars. When there's such a big alteration in order to make the recipe work, it doesn't deserve high praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
What a disaster this was. Too thick, like paste and all I could taste was shortening. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is a crusting decorator's icing. I use one similar all the time because it smooths out like fondant on cakes. I use flavored creamers for the liquids, however,, and that makes a difference. This is a lot superior to use when decorating cakes as it holds well and as long as you don't use butter, holds up to heat and humidity problems. No sliding and you don't have to worry about how long it can stay out of the fridge. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is my standard frosting, and it is based on a the Wilton recipe. It is infinitely adaptable. I add 1 teaspoon of almond extract and use regular vanilla extract (Adam's Best).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is my first time ever making homemade icing. It was perfect. Just enough sweetness. I used butter as a substitute for the shortening and I also used real vanilla extract. The dark color did not give a hint of color change the white icing. This was great for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Yummy! :) I made this with the butter cake recipe also found on this site. It is sooo good. I am not a fan of shortening, so I just used butter. I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon. This was fantastic! It will definitely be a go-to from now on! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States