Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Yummy! :) I made this with the butter cake recipe also found on this site. It is sooo good. I am not a fan of shortening, so I just used butter. I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon. This was fantastic! It will definitely be a go-to from now on! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My new favourite icing recipe! It's excellent for cakes and cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
i'm sure this will be good, but ever thought of replacing the water with eggnog, just a idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
It was a day of rain and cold but I had to add confectioners' sugar to get it ready for the cake. Tasted really good, sweet but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
EXCELLENT!!! My daughter and I made sugar cookies last night and this was the frosting we used. I didn"t change anything and it came out perfect! My husband loved this frosting, and trust me, he's hard to please. Two thumbs up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This is no lie. This is actually the best white icing ever. Easy to make, comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Perfect! I cut the sugar down to 3.5 cups and added .5 cups of cocoa powder and whipped it (adding water to get the consistency that I wanted) and it is perfect! Not too sweet, not too chocolate-y
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Been looking for some good white icing forever and I have finally found it!! I tried this recipe as is--yuck. It was awful. One star. Then I re-did it with three cups of sugar, tablespoon of milk, half butter and half shortening. SO yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drama4Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Love this recipe! So fast and easy and has a great whipped texture....I made a few changes: cut the recipe in half (perfect for 24 cupcakes), used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter, and 1/2 t. of almond extract instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This recipe is just fantastic! I was afraid to use it because I normally don't like shortening based frostings, so I took other's suggestions and did half butter and half shortening. I also used milk instead of water, and only used 1 tbs milk but I used almost 1 tbs of clear imitation vanilla, because imitation isn't as strong as the real stuff. But this was just great, the first recipe for frosting I actually LOVED the first time I tried it! most of the other recipes I have to fiddle around with for a half hour. Oh I also whipped the butter and shortening for about 5-7 minutes and added the milk and vanilla, it helps absorb the flavor of the vanilla better and makes for a smoother frosting. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States