Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This recipe is so perfect, so easy and so, so inexpensive. And versatile? You betcha'. Our favorite is to add a little extra water and peppermint extract and whip it for 5 minutes. It makes the lightest frosting. And it is the absolute best for decorating. The possibilities are endless. Thank you Meghan for the refresher on the best icing/frosting ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skippy Aveo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I did not care for the shortening taste. It was creamy for me and had a nice consistency and went on well. I just prefer a more buttery taste. I won't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I used half salted butter and half shortening and it turned out perfect. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Super easy. I used butter and pure vanilla extract and it still came out quite nice and white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
The flavor is ok, but it practically melted when I put it on my completely cooled cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffinpatch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I used this recipe when decorating a half-sheet cake this past weekend. As another reviewer suggested, I used 1/2 cup EACH Crisco and salted butter. I do no agree that water works to thin out the icing; rather, it turns it into cement! I didn't bother with corn syrup, either. I used just a little milk (started with a teaspoon and added in little bits as I needed it). The icing is is very easy to work with, although if you are tinting it and need to use it at different times during the decorating process, put the piping bag(s) in the regrigerator to firm up (hot weather and icing do no not mix!). Using 1/4 tsp salt also cuts the sweetness of the icing, as the same reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I recently used this icing on a wedding cake. I took other reviewers advice and added a bit of salt and butter flavouring instead of vanilla. It turned out very well. Very sweet, of course, but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Hi, again this a recipe I have always used for my decorator frosting except that I also add at least 1 tsp. of almond flavoring. It takes it over the top!! Please try and enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Walker-Goggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I followed this recipe to a T and in my opinion it had a horrible flavor and was not creamy, even after thinning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crooksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Good basic icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States