Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I just made this recipe. I used cream instead of water. The consistency is perfect, flavor just like a bakery frosting. I am impressed. :) It was fluffy and white. I used wilton clear vanilla. This will be my go-to frosting from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOURSTUBBS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I am NOT picky about sweets either. I've liked, if not loved, every cake and frosting I've ever had until this one (from Safeway cakes to wedding cakes to box cakes to homemade cakes with various frostings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Loved the flavor of this icing and it was supper easy to adjust to the right consistancy for what I needed it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I tried this recipe because it has no dairy. It's easy to make and works well to ice a cake, but I do agree with a lot of reviewers that it is overly sweet and lacking in flavor, so I could taste the shortening. I used Spectrum vegetable shortening (palm shortening) so perhaps it tastes better when using Crisco. I used the white to frost the cake, and then added come cocoa powder to what was left, and piped brown writing onto the cake. I definitely prefer the chocolate version, as the cocoa masks the shortening flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I LOVED IT!!! It is better than store bought.;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Haley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I LOVED IT!!! I made it 3 times now and I loved it every time.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef haley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
The icing it's self tasted great. It makes for an amazing base! Although, I reduced the sugar amount to 2 1/2 cups, because I feel the icing would be too sweet if it had more. When I was decorating my vanilla cupcakes with this icing, the icing almost fell apart. I used all butter and 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla. It was just as white and tasted fine. I'll probably use this recipe again, and add something to give it a little more flavour. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This recipe is so perfect, so easy and so, so inexpensive. And versatile? You betcha'. Our favorite is to add a little extra water and peppermint extract and whip it for 5 minutes. It makes the lightest frosting. And it is the absolute best for decorating. The possibilities are endless. Thank you Meghan for the refresher on the best icing/frosting ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skippy Aveo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I did not care for the shortening taste. It was creamy for me and had a nice consistency and went on well. I just prefer a more buttery taste. I won't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I used half salted butter and half shortening and it turned out perfect. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States