Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
It was ok... I would use only 3/4 cup of shortening and substitute water for milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I found this recipe when I realized I didn't have enough butter to do my usual frosting recipe, and thought I'd give it a try. Turned out fantastic. I also loved the consistency of it! I only made two changes - I used real vanilla extract (liberally - I don't measure my vanilla, and I love the flavor!) and about 1/8 of a cup of whipping cream. Saved it to the recipe box, I will definitely pull this one out again! I can't wait to play with flavors with this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Etna, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Easy to make. Simple materials and process. Taste is mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I made this icing for a cake I made and it was so sweet and it tasted all grainy from the sugar and I only added 2 cups of sugar. It made so much icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I have made this frosting in humid (today) weather, in the winter, doesn't matter. IT IS AWEOME ! Meghan is right, let it go 5 minutes in the mixer. Thank you for posting it on Allrecipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANIE4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It was great! We used butter instead of shortening and added a splash of milk and an extra half teaspoon of vanilla so it is hard to rate the original recipe, but ours was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was horrible. All you could taste is shortening, I even only used half shortening/butter mix. It was very gritty, and tasted awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
So usually I am all about taste and not looks, but in this case i needed a frosting that was stark white to make baseball cupcakes for my son's end of the season baseball party. This frosting stayed true to it's promise, i used 1/2 shortening 1/2 salted butter with 3tsp of vanilla 3tbs of milk 3 cups powdered sugar and a pinch of salt. Was exactly the color i needed and tasted great too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NuBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Delicious!!!! Recipe was perfect and easy, I was scared using a hand mixer because of other recipes saying it might burn out but this recipe was my first try and it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States