Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This is a good basic recipe, but I can't justify giving it 5 stars. Made it twice and took the advice of others the second time and adjusted the sugar to 3 cups and used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening, but still something wasn't quite perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Beautiful icing for cupcakes. I added a little milk as to pipe through a bag. I placed on white cupcakes and tasted great with the cake itself. I am fond of buttercream but this has a great appearance like that of a professional bakery. The kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This was the best! I followed the recipe, except I did take the advice of missyvixen1217 on the part with the 1/2 shortning and 1/2 salted butter. I tried it for the first time today and cannot keep the kids out of it!!! Thanks so much. I'll keep this one on file!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This was terrible. With much modication I'm not even sure it will help this recipe. It could be the shorting that gives it the bad taste. I will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Worked well, but I'm not sure I love that sugary of an icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Did the job perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
easy, good for decorating but not tasty enough to be a main frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Worked great for decorating my cake. Will use for whole cake next time but will need to be thinned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I will admit that I am a baking snob but this fell FAR below my expectations for a basic white icing recipe. Will never use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyson
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Really good but also really sweet! I cut the recipe wayyy back because I only needed enough frosting to frost a cake. I also used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 *salted* butter. I added just a tiny pinch of salt after tasteing it, that cut back the sweetness, and after that the frosting was very very spoon lickable! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hammondsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States