Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I only had a dozen cupcakes to ice and so halved the recipe. It's awesome! Made more than enough.. oh darn.. just going to have to eat the rest on its own! :) Thanks for a great recipe. (I used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter, btw)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Horncastle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This recipe was good for coloring and icing the cake. However, it tasted very greasy because of the shortening. If you don't like that "thick on the tongue" taste, I would recommend Martha Stewart's Swiss Meringue Buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very Unusual Icing - didnt taste like icing - blah tasting - wont be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunset185

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Need help new baker. How do you measure out the shortening if using out of the can? Or can i use the oil instead? Same for the butter can i melt it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
very very very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brights28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Even though I'm just starting out, I found this icing a little too sweet. But my mom and my sister found it perfect. It went well with the cake. Besides the sweetness, it's one of the best homemade Icings I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
It's great! I have to make a birthday cake for my friend's surprise 30th birthday party, and I have been looking for the perfect white icing. I have sampled many different recipes . . . and this is the winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Elizabeth
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Very easy!!! Added a little extra water but not quite the 3 tbls suggested. Used it for decorating cupcakes. Loved the texture. Might try it with 1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
An excellent icing for decorating purposes. Makes a good base layer and holds its shape well for the details.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States