Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
OMG I love this icing but you need to add a little more water to the the recipe but it is still good!!!Thanks for posting this recipe.You should try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I halved the recipe, since I only wanted to ice a strawberry sheet cake, and used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter, as other reviewers have suggested. I only had unsalted butter, so I added about 1/3 tsp salt, which cut the sweetness a little, also. It turned out very smooth with a sweet, but not-too-sweet, taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johawke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
this recipe was my first attempt at making icing! and i must say its really really easy. I did substitute the water for milk and also used all butter instead of half shortening half butter. It turned out alright! :D YAY! It does get a little watery at the edges like one of the other member said. but all in all, i will make this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I love this recipe. I've modified it using Cherry Extract and Almond Extract. It's easy to color and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Very easy to make. I've never made icing from scratch, and it was so easy. Loved it! I did substitute 1/2 c. butter for 1/2 of the shortening. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This might be fine for decorating a cake, but I don't think it's meant to be used on the whole cake, which is what I did. I prepared it exactly, making sure to thin it per the instructions. It tastes like very sweet Crisco. Won't use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I have to agree with the name. I used it as a crumb layer before fondant and dyed it pink to match. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greatfoodaddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
A really good recipe. Last time I made it, it was too greasy, so this time round I took the advice from the other reviews and added half shortening and half butter. The only only problem is that the icing is no longer pure white. I forgot that butter in the USA is much much paler than in the UK! It did taste much better than last time though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Wow I could eat this straight! This really is the best icing ever! well, with using the modifications suggested. I used half baking margarine and half shortening (would've used salted butter if I had it, I'm sure that would taste better), and milk instead of water, and a day later in the fridge it is still fabulous! Be sure your butter and shortening aren't old, they absorb flavors and odors of your pantry and fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
this recipie did not work and it was terrible i was making a get well cake for my dad and he almost threw up but mabey i did it wrong oh well i will try it agian another day mabey i did the wrong ingridiands
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States