Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This recipe was GREAT... but I did not follow it to a tee... i used 1/2 tsp almond extract and only 3 cups of the sugar and it tasted wonderful... it was still pretty sweet so I can see how using 4 cups would make it VERY sweet.. highly recommend the almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very simple and delicious for cupcakes. I used half butter, half crisco. I also used milk instead of water and upped it to 3 Tbsp for a slightly creamier texture. Would need to double the recipe for a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
worked well to ice my mini cupcakes although i did alter the recipe - i used half shortening and half unsalted butter and instead of water/corn syrup i used milk. very yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
A great quick icing, very white! I used it for cupcakes not decorating. Also I used regular vanilla and it came out just as white. Thinking about trying to add fruty flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oneandonly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
this recipe is awesome...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
definitely don't like it...should've used butter instead...no taste to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Great consistency for decorating! I used all butter instead of shortening. Be sure the butter is at room temp, and beat on high for a couple of minutes. Fluffy, sweet and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this with butter since I worried my shortening had turned. It was very good, and has a nice light texture. You can still feel the powdered sugar texture, so it's not one of those creamy icings, but it's good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My family did not care for this frosting; it was way to sweet! It did work well for decorating, but no one would eat the finished cake! It also colored very nicely; for these reasons, I give it two stars. I'm sorry, but I will not be making this frosting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
3 stars because I had to modify the recipe. I used 1 cup of softened unsalted butter and the full 4 cups of icing sugar. I used milk instead of water, then added another 2 - 3 tbsp to thin it out. After making the icing, and being dissatisfied with the sweetness, I read some more reviews, and added approx. 1/4 tsp of salt. It really cut the sweetness, and made it taste more like icing and less than sugar. I also had to work with the icing quite a bit to get rid of the graininess (yes, I was using icing/confectioner's sugar, not granulated).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States