Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Easy recipe, very flexible. Took others' suggestions and substituted half the shortening with butter. Also added only 3 cups of powdered sugar, but I love sweet stuff so I think it probably would have been good with 4. Easy to tint and decorate with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I LOVED this icing. I used all butter instead of shortening and cut down the sugar to 3 cups instead of using the 4. I couldn't stop eating it; it is the best icing ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I had to make a cake for a girl at work.We forgot her birthday today. We remembered everyone else.(I know, that is so bad) So I wanted to make her a homemade cake and icing. She likes sweet icing. So this is perfect. I whippped it in my kitchenaid mixer. It was light and fluffy. Thanks for a great icing recipe. We ordered her flowers too. NOONE gets flowers. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Philbeck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I took the advise of some other reviewers and used less powder sugar as well as using some butter in place of some of the crisco and I gotta say, this stuff is gooooood. Not too sweet in my opinion. Just right :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Added 1 tsp almond extract along with the vanilla. Used Karo Syrup instead of water. It tasted fantastic! I got lots of compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Simple and easy to work with - spread beautifully over the cake and blended effortlessly with food coloring. This will be my new "go-to" basic icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is a great basic that can be altered. I used unsalted butter but when found it too sweet, I added a little salt. I also used lemon juice instead of vanilla. This is quick, easy and the consistency can be changed with a little water. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This recipe was GREAT... but I did not follow it to a tee... i used 1/2 tsp almond extract and only 3 cups of the sugar and it tasted wonderful... it was still pretty sweet so I can see how using 4 cups would make it VERY sweet.. highly recommend the almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very simple and delicious for cupcakes. I used half butter, half crisco. I also used milk instead of water and upped it to 3 Tbsp for a slightly creamier texture. Would need to double the recipe for a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
worked well to ice my mini cupcakes although i did alter the recipe - i used half shortening and half unsalted butter and instead of water/corn syrup i used milk. very yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States