Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
The name fits perfectly (Best White Icing Ever)This icing was great and sooo easy to make. I only made 2 changes instead of 1c. of Shortening I did 1/2c. Shortening and 1/2c. butter and then I used 1 teaspoon of Almond extract instead of vanilla extract. I also noticed if you are using this icing for whole cake you need to add a little water. I will use this recipe from now on my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
this is the best Icing but I don't do any water just about 2 cups of Confectioners sugar one cup of palm oil(solid) and a dash of real vanilla extract it is perfect for cake's,(but don't forget to do a crumb coat!)piping etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
OMG I love this icing but you need to add a little more water to the the recipe but it is still good!!!Thanks for posting this recipe.You should try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I halved the recipe, since I only wanted to ice a strawberry sheet cake, and used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter, as other reviewers have suggested. I only had unsalted butter, so I added about 1/3 tsp salt, which cut the sweetness a little, also. It turned out very smooth with a sweet, but not-too-sweet, taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johawke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
this recipe was my first attempt at making icing! and i must say its really really easy. I did substitute the water for milk and also used all butter instead of half shortening half butter. It turned out alright! :D YAY! It does get a little watery at the edges like one of the other member said. but all in all, i will make this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I love this recipe. I've modified it using Cherry Extract and Almond Extract. It's easy to color and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Very easy to make. I've never made icing from scratch, and it was so easy. Loved it! I did substitute 1/2 c. butter for 1/2 of the shortening. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This might be fine for decorating a cake, but I don't think it's meant to be used on the whole cake, which is what I did. I prepared it exactly, making sure to thin it per the instructions. It tastes like very sweet Crisco. Won't use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I have to agree with the name. I used it as a crumb layer before fondant and dyed it pink to match. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greatfoodaddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
A really good recipe. Last time I made it, it was too greasy, so this time round I took the advice from the other reviews and added half shortening and half butter. The only only problem is that the icing is no longer pure white. I forgot that butter in the USA is much much paler than in the UK! It did taste much better than last time though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States