Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is a great basic that can be altered. I used unsalted butter but when found it too sweet, I added a little salt. I also used lemon juice instead of vanilla. This is quick, easy and the consistency can be changed with a little water. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This recipe was GREAT... but I did not follow it to a tee... i used 1/2 tsp almond extract and only 3 cups of the sugar and it tasted wonderful... it was still pretty sweet so I can see how using 4 cups would make it VERY sweet.. highly recommend the almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very simple and delicious for cupcakes. I used half butter, half crisco. I also used milk instead of water and upped it to 3 Tbsp for a slightly creamier texture. Would need to double the recipe for a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
worked well to ice my mini cupcakes although i did alter the recipe - i used half shortening and half unsalted butter and instead of water/corn syrup i used milk. very yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
A great quick icing, very white! I used it for cupcakes not decorating. Also I used regular vanilla and it came out just as white. Thinking about trying to add fruty flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oneandonly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
this recipe is awesome...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
definitely don't like it...should've used butter instead...no taste to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Great consistency for decorating! I used all butter instead of shortening. Be sure the butter is at room temp, and beat on high for a couple of minutes. Fluffy, sweet and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this with butter since I worried my shortening had turned. It was very good, and has a nice light texture. You can still feel the powdered sugar texture, so it's not one of those creamy icings, but it's good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My family did not care for this frosting; it was way to sweet! It did work well for decorating, but no one would eat the finished cake! It also colored very nicely; for these reasons, I give it two stars. I'm sorry, but I will not be making this frosting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States