Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I have been using this icing to do cupcakes and bithday cakes, all I have to do is change the consitancy a little for what I need to do and it works perfectly. It's easy to add coloring to...and EVERYONE loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This recipe started out perfect! It wasn't too runny, but not to thick either.......then it started to melt. It was just sitting out for a couple of minutes and it became pretty runny. It still had a good taste but I would recommend using it ASAP after you make it. Overall, good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is a wonderful mild frosting. If you love super sweet, this is NOT for you. We make most of our cakes w/o frosting, because my husband doesn't like frosting but when he tried this it was a huge hit. Plus we have a lot of foreign friends who all agree American deserts are TOO sweet, many of whom agree that this is a good frosting. You can change the texture by adding a VERY small ammt. of milk/ water (a few drops) at a time to get desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
used all salted butter no shortening, increased vanilla, and added 1/4tsp salt, only used 3C powdered sugar, and thinned with additional milk for spreading. This was great not too sweet because of the salt, perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkitty79
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This is amazing! I made it for just 2 serving because I am allergic to milk and the rest of my family wanted chocolate icing. I even made it with out a blender considering i am lazy. I am exicted to find a yummy recipe like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Really easy to make. Not too sweet. I used butter instead of shortening and regular vanilla extract and added food colouring. Turned out great. Will for sure make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
reminds me of oreo cream not bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was the best icing ever. Not to sweet and it kept it's consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montclair, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This makes a great icing! I didn't have any shortening, so I used 1 3/4 sticks of butter. I did find it a bit too sweet, but after I added a few dashes of salt it was perfect. The texture was perfect. I didn't have any food coloring, so I added a few teaspoons of the red velvet cake batter to it to give it color. It worked perfectly! I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMiohana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is just a beautiful frosting! Creamy, smooth, fluffy and delicious, perfect for piping and easy to mix up - just dump all the ingredients in a bowl and let 'er rip! I didn't need a pure white frosting so I used half butter and hi-ratio shortening, however, I've used all shortening many times and have no complaints of greasiness or the frosting being tasteless. Those who do have those issues might try using hi-ratio shortening, a pinch of salt which heightens flavors and a teeny bit of almond flavoring ('tho I prefer just the vanilla). And by all means make sure whatever shortening you're using is fresh and not rancid! (Or, take the extra steps and make the more complicated and fussy Italian, French or Swiss Meringue Buttercream Frosting...) I used an egg white for part of the water called for and then just added a teaspoon or two of water until I had the piping consistency I wanted. One recipe frosts two dozen cupcakes generously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States