Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made this to pair with the 90 minute cinnamon roll recipe. I made half of the icing recipe, and for flavor, I swapped out the water for Almond Milk. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Didn't taste very good, had too much sugar in it, and was too thick to use. I had to add another tablespoon of water to be able to use it the way I wanted to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
THis is the worst Icing I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I used unsalted butter instead of shortening, as it did not matter if I had bright white. I love this recipe! I didn't understand what all of the fuss about butter cream was until I made this recipe. I am about to try to adapt it to make chocolate frosting & hope that I do not mess it up too much. :) I would recommend with this as well as most frosting recipes to just add a little at a time and make sure that everything is well blended before adding more sugar etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
i tried this tonight, but instead of vanilla, i used a pack of black cherry koolaid! the cake lasted about 5 minutes! it was very light and fluffy! MMMMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMMM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Tombleson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I personally though this recipie was too bland and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was a good frosting, Light and fluffy. The only problem I had with it was the aftertaste. I don't usually put shortening in my recipes. But it did work great for decorating my chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
very easy to make and spread. I used this on both my daughter's cupcakes and cakes this year, easy to add color and comes out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I used 1/2 of the amounts but I used all unsalted butter instead of shortening. I also used real extract vanilla because I didn't have imitation. Since I found it to be too sweet I added 1/2 Philadelphia cream cheese and it came out really good. The amount was way enough for a nine inch cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Wow... this is easy. I don't like the all shortening part so I did mine all butter. 3 cups of sugar and 1/4 cup corn starch. Double the vanilla and no water or corn syrup. I just added sour cream till I liked the consistency. This is now a keeper !! Oh and I followed missyvixen1217 and added some salt. Had to grind it a bit to make the grains small enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States