Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I used 1/2 of the amounts but I used all unsalted butter instead of shortening. I also used real extract vanilla because I didn't have imitation. Since I found it to be too sweet I added 1/2 Philadelphia cream cheese and it came out really good. The amount was way enough for a nine inch cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Wow... this is easy. I don't like the all shortening part so I did mine all butter. 3 cups of sugar and 1/4 cup corn starch. Double the vanilla and no water or corn syrup. I just added sour cream till I liked the consistency. This is now a keeper !! Oh and I followed missyvixen1217 and added some salt. Had to grind it a bit to make the grains small enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
The icing just tasted like shortening. Luckily, I used butter flavored shortening or it would have been even worse. Even my kids who love basically anything with sugar did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My sugar addict 9-year-old wouldn't even eat it! I tried making the recipe as is substituting the shortening for butter (better), and with half shortening and half butter (YUM!!). Thanks other reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Disgusting! This left a dry taste in your mouth, it looks disgusting, and it tastes just like it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Easy to make and even easier to work with. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
It seems that very few of the reviewers actually used this recipe, and instead used a version of the Wilton frosting, which is half shortening, half butter (and is my all time favorite frosting recipe). This recipe as it is written, however, has a few issues. I tried this recipe because I needed something that would not spoil in the mail on its way to Afghanistan, and Crisco doesn't spoil in hot conditions. Compared to the Wilton frosting, which is my standard buttercream, this was (1) way too stiff and (2) not nearly sweet enough. To fix it I ended up adding 1.5x the amount of confectioners sugar called for in the recipe and 1.5-2x as much water. I think the recipe would also have been better using milk instead of water, but as I was concerned with spoilage I stuck to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
made a couple changes, since i was using food coloring i used 1 tbs of vanilla extract, and 4 tbs water. tastes delicious! very light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
It was ok... I would use only 3/4 cup of shortening and substitute water for milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I found this recipe when I realized I didn't have enough butter to do my usual frosting recipe, and thought I'd give it a try. Turned out fantastic. I also loved the consistency of it! I only made two changes - I used real vanilla extract (liberally - I don't measure my vanilla, and I love the flavor!) and about 1/8 of a cup of whipping cream. Saved it to the recipe box, I will definitely pull this one out again! I can't wait to play with flavors with this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Etna, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States