Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
it was ok. but when I added butter and MILK to it I came out really good and creamy. and if you add more vanilla you get a better taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missie Reynolds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
This is my favorite recipe for icing! The recipe with 1/2 butter is definitely NOT a favorite of mine. If the temperature is warm, the butter separates from shortening and the icing appears "melted", when this happens, the color (if you color your icing) separates as well and you end up with white specs rather than the intended color. It took me 4 hours to frost a cake that should have taken me an hour at most, because I had to put the icing and cake in the refrigerator every 10-15 minutes to harden it back up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diamond Bratten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This is a little too sweet, but nice none the less! It is shockingly fluffy--- never experienced that before with icing. I definitely would say it is good for a fluffy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I have friends with lactose issues, so I didn't want to use my go-to buttercream recipe. This one saved the day! It is soooo soft and fluffy! I used half vanilla/ half almond (because I'm addicted to almond buttercream), and I love it! Thanks for a great alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Waldrop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
followed directions to the T. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
My new favorite go-to icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This is a fine last-minute quick frosting. I used 3 cups powdered sugar and 1/2 organic vegetable shortening and 1/2 salted butter (I was out of unsalted butter) and REGULAR vanilla since I wasn't going after a truly white color. It tastes as though I could have used 1 cup veg. shortening without a problem. I would definitely not add the 4th cup of confectioners sugar. I had to frost a cake at the last minute for a school function and this worked out well; saved the day, actually. Thanks everyone for the input on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Used this today and it works fine! Would prefer this over butter, add salt to reduce the sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Loved it!! I made it as is, only adding one tsp of butter extract. I'm sure you could mix in any flavor. Might even add in I was searching for a dairy free recipe and this surpassed my expectations on what I would find! I plan on using this recipe on my daughters birthday cupcakes (allergy friendly wacky cake) in a few weeks. This would be great for swirling on top!! I'll be sure to post our guests overall thoughts and take pics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This is so easy to make. It's great for something simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States