Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
As a professional decorator, this icing is a great base. Most will think it too sweet and I agree but you can use 1/2 shortening (hi-ratio or Sweetex is best but crisco will work if that is all you can get) and 1/2 SALTED butter and add 1/4 tsp salt also (popcorn salt works best as the grains are smaller but regular table salt works fine if that is what you have), salt cuts the sweetness in icings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
611 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This frosting was amazing! I used it to repair a store-bought cake that my mother dropped. It turned out beautiful and tasted great. My husband was teasing me about eating the icing by the spoonful. I used all butter in mine. I suspect that anyone who had a problem with the frosting tasting like shortening probably had shortening that was going bad from age. I learned from experience that if shortening is old, the flavor overpowers anything it's cooked in. Yuck! Anyway, this is definitely my new favorite icing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Very easy to make! My version is: I did 1/2 butter 1/2 shorting and only 3 cups of sugar. I also didn't fill the 1/2 cups all the way because I only had 20 cupcakes to frost. I also used 1 TB milk instead of water and added about 2 ts. concentrated defrosted canned OJ and orange marmalade (to taste-about 2 TB) to make an orange flavored frosting. You can even add a drop or 2 of orange food coloring! It turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I am not usually a fan of white frosting (DULL!) but I had to make some so I used this recipe. Except my Crisco was expired and I didnt have unsalted butter so I used two sticks of regular butter, 3 Cups of powdered sugar and a little extra milk and vanilla. OMG, it is SOO good. I dont know why everything calls for shortening in frosting recipes but the all butter alternative was WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
This is the recipe that we used when I took a cake decorating class. For the whitest icing make sure that you used CLEAR flavorings. (available at the wilton section at your store). The almond extract 1/2 tsp and butter flavoring 1/2 tsp is a nice addition to the vanilla. Make sure you chill it well if you are doing flowers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I have been searching for a great icing recipe, and this one is awesome! I made it twice with half crisco/half butter and it turned out well. The third time I used ALL butter; I prefer butter over crisco. If you don't need it to be bright white, this works just as well and gives it a nice, buttery taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This is a great recipe. To make it healthier I use Spectrum Organic all veget. shortening which has no trans fat and is made with palm oil and has lots of the good polyunsat. and monounsat.fats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This icing is terrible! it has NO taste but the taste of icing sugar and is not even creamy! will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I needed an icing to go with the Swedish Nut Cake I made (also from this site) and I choose this one. I didn't have the cream cheese and so I wasn't able to make the proper frosting. Definitely the wrong TYPE of icing for the cake I made, but the taste was amazing. I sometimes get cravings for birthday cakes, just for the icing. Now I can make my own at home. I used regular vanilla instead of the clear, and it came out bright white!! I didn't have to beat mine anywhere near five minutes, more like 2. I did add 2 more TBLS. of water so that may have been why. Thanks Meghan...this is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is just a beautiful frosting! Creamy, smooth, fluffy and delicious, perfect for piping and easy to mix up - just dump all the ingredients in a bowl and let 'er rip! I didn't need a pure white frosting so I used half butter and hi-ratio shortening, however, I've used all shortening many times and have no complaints of greasiness or the frosting being tasteless. Those who do have those issues might try using hi-ratio shortening, a pinch of salt which heightens flavors and a teeny bit of almond flavoring ('tho I prefer just the vanilla). And by all means make sure whatever shortening you're using is fresh and not rancid! (Or, take the extra steps and make the more complicated and fussy Italian, French or Swiss Meringue Buttercream Frosting...) I used an egg white for part of the water called for and then just added a teaspoon or two of water until I had the piping consistency I wanted. One recipe frosts two dozen cupcakes generously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States