Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbyschmid3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Best icing I have ever made. Easy to make, tastes wonderful and looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
A good alternative to buttercream. I used butter flavored Crisco. I do agree with other reviewers who say it's a bit too sweet, so I plan on playing with adding less sugar next time. But one successful variation is "White Raspberry", which means you add 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1 1/2 tsps raspberry flavor instead of just vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I just made this icing to ice cupcakes! I added two tablespoons of water to make it a bit thinner, mixed it by hand with a fork and then added 3 big tablespoons of natural smooth peanut-butter - and let me tell you, people - it is SO GOOD!! i shredded a little dark espresso chocolate over top and we now have a kitchen full of gourmet cupcakes to enjoy! YUM! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I can see this being a useful decoration icing... but... if you are looking for flavor, it is not very sweet or creamy and the shortening gives it strage taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made this minus the vanilla extract plus a little bit of sour cream and a little melted butter and milk instead of water and it worked out very well. I didn't use a hand mixer, only a fork and it didn't quite look like the frosting in the picture but I was able to drizzle it nicely on my cake. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This really is the best icing, really easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was very good, but I didn't have shortening, and so I put margarine in it. At first I didn't know that you were suppose to whip it for 5 min. but after I did do that, it was great. It wasn't white, because of the margarine but it was GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
By the time you alter this recipe to make it palatable, you would be better off using another one, or one of your own. I followed all directions to the tee, but this recipe, left a lot to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States