Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I even added milk to thin it out. Still was lumpy from confectioner sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is the BEST & easiest white icing I've ever used!! I made this for my son's 1st b-day cake (it was a puppy) and it just made the cake! The icing was delicious & had everyone raving about the cake. I added 2 extra TBS water like suggested & it was the perfect consistency for icing the cake. I had to double the recipie, though...which was no big deal. I will be using this from now on! Thank you sooo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Great stiff icing for decorating. I do like half butter and vegetable shorting for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I use this recipe everytime! It is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATALIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I gave it 3 stars simply because it's easy to make. The problems I had though is that it's somewhat greasy, tastes too much like the confectioner's sugar, and is not good to work with to actually decorate a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
The name fits perfectly (Best White Icing Ever)This icing was great and sooo easy to make. I only made 2 changes instead of 1c. of Shortening I did 1/2c. Shortening and 1/2c. butter and then I used 1 teaspoon of Almond extract instead of vanilla extract. I also noticed if you are using this icing for whole cake you need to add a little water. I will use this recipe from now on my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
this is the best Icing but I don't do any water just about 2 cups of Confectioners sugar one cup of palm oil(solid) and a dash of real vanilla extract it is perfect for cake's,(but don't forget to do a crumb coat!)piping etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
OMG I love this icing but you need to add a little more water to the the recipe but it is still good!!!Thanks for posting this recipe.You should try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I halved the recipe, since I only wanted to ice a strawberry sheet cake, and used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter, as other reviewers have suggested. I only had unsalted butter, so I added about 1/3 tsp salt, which cut the sweetness a little, also. It turned out very smooth with a sweet, but not-too-sweet, taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johawke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
this recipe was my first attempt at making icing! and i must say its really really easy. I did substitute the water for milk and also used all butter instead of half shortening half butter. It turned out alright! :D YAY! It does get a little watery at the edges like one of the other member said. but all in all, i will make this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States