Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Great consistency for decorating! I used all butter instead of shortening. Be sure the butter is at room temp, and beat on high for a couple of minutes. Fluffy, sweet and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this with butter since I worried my shortening had turned. It was very good, and has a nice light texture. You can still feel the powdered sugar texture, so it's not one of those creamy icings, but it's good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My family did not care for this frosting; it was way to sweet! It did work well for decorating, but no one would eat the finished cake! It also colored very nicely; for these reasons, I give it two stars. I'm sorry, but I will not be making this frosting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
3 stars because I had to modify the recipe. I used 1 cup of softened unsalted butter and the full 4 cups of icing sugar. I used milk instead of water, then added another 2 - 3 tbsp to thin it out. After making the icing, and being dissatisfied with the sweetness, I read some more reviews, and added approx. 1/4 tsp of salt. It really cut the sweetness, and made it taste more like icing and less than sugar. I also had to work with the icing quite a bit to get rid of the graininess (yes, I was using icing/confectioner's sugar, not granulated).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I use butter extract instead of vanilla and have also used almond flavoring-mixinf 1/2 tsp almond and 1/2 tsp butter--yum--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I did not care for the taste of this icing. I followed the recipe exactly. I didn't think it was too sweet it just tastes too much like grease. The consistency is fine though. I bet many of the of reviewers that had trouble in that area used granulated sugar in place of confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This recipe did not work for me. It tastes like pure lard with sugar, basically. its lumpy, i mixed it in a kitchen aid for about 8 minutes at least, and then 5 by hand. i know i am only 16 and a "beginner" and all, but this was just sad :[ I don't recommend this icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I even added milk to thin it out. Still was lumpy from confectioner sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is the BEST & easiest white icing I've ever used!! I made this for my son's 1st b-day cake (it was a puppy) and it just made the cake! The icing was delicious & had everyone raving about the cake. I added 2 extra TBS water like suggested & it was the perfect consistency for icing the cake. I had to double the recipie, though...which was no big deal. I will be using this from now on! Thank you sooo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Great stiff icing for decorating. I do like half butter and vegetable shorting for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States