Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I use butter extract instead of vanilla and have also used almond flavoring-mixinf 1/2 tsp almond and 1/2 tsp butter--yum--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I did not care for the taste of this icing. I followed the recipe exactly. I didn't think it was too sweet it just tastes too much like grease. The consistency is fine though. I bet many of the of reviewers that had trouble in that area used granulated sugar in place of confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This recipe did not work for me. It tastes like pure lard with sugar, basically. its lumpy, i mixed it in a kitchen aid for about 8 minutes at least, and then 5 by hand. i know i am only 16 and a "beginner" and all, but this was just sad :[ I don't recommend this icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I even added milk to thin it out. Still was lumpy from confectioner sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is the BEST & easiest white icing I've ever used!! I made this for my son's 1st b-day cake (it was a puppy) and it just made the cake! The icing was delicious & had everyone raving about the cake. I added 2 extra TBS water like suggested & it was the perfect consistency for icing the cake. I had to double the recipie, though...which was no big deal. I will be using this from now on! Thank you sooo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Great stiff icing for decorating. I do like half butter and vegetable shorting for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I use this recipe everytime! It is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATALIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I gave it 3 stars simply because it's easy to make. The problems I had though is that it's somewhat greasy, tastes too much like the confectioner's sugar, and is not good to work with to actually decorate a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
The name fits perfectly (Best White Icing Ever)This icing was great and sooo easy to make. I only made 2 changes instead of 1c. of Shortening I did 1/2c. Shortening and 1/2c. butter and then I used 1 teaspoon of Almond extract instead of vanilla extract. I also noticed if you are using this icing for whole cake you need to add a little water. I will use this recipe from now on my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
this is the best Icing but I don't do any water just about 2 cups of Confectioners sugar one cup of palm oil(solid) and a dash of real vanilla extract it is perfect for cake's,(but don't forget to do a crumb coat!)piping etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States