Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Great to decorate cakes using a piping bag. I did have to add more liquid to the icing though. Just bit by bit until it would pipe out better. I didn't find it too sweet compared to my usual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This icing is way to greasy, it leaves a coating of grease in your mouth. I even used half butter and half shortening. I could imagine all shortening as being even worse. I used only 3 cups sugar and it was still too sweet. If I were too do it again, I would stick with the oldie but goody, all butter icing, with milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
this is a great fluffy icing, the whipped fluffiness made it a little hard to use to decorate a cake though. The best part is its not too sweet and lactose free for my son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Regular icing. Basic recipe. I used half butter half shortening. I dont really like the texture, especially for decoration, but its ok, thats the kind of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I substituted butter for the shortening. How can butter, sugar and vanilla go wrong? Of course it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I really like it. Everyone said my cake was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. As stated, it looks a little "iffy" when you start out, but mixing it for the full 5 minutes turns out beautifully. I halved the recipe and added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon then piped it onto cinnamon biscotti. Absolutely delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma-diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Photo by dani
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
After adding extra water (2 tbs.) and vanilla (1 tsp.), I got it to the right consistancy. I used butter flavored shortening instead of plain, it gave it a yellowish color but looked great with the pink sprinkles I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
greasy , flavourless,tastes like cheap grocery store frosting! Quick and easy not a good trade off, i would rather take more time and NOT use shortening as the base fat, better tose cream cheese, butter or some kind of mix of both or a egg white or whipping cream type.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great! I had less icing sugar than I thought, so I had to half the recipe. Still worked great, and I added a pinch of each, cloves, allspice and cinnamon. Yummy!! My toddler loved it! I found it sweet, but no sweeter than any other icing, and by adding the spices, it helped to balance the flavors out. Also I used 1/2 lard and 1/2 salted butter. I will use this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States