Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Regular icing. Basic recipe. I used half butter half shortening. I dont really like the texture, especially for decoration, but its ok, thats the kind of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I substituted butter for the shortening. How can butter, sugar and vanilla go wrong? Of course it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I really like it. Everyone said my cake was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. As stated, it looks a little "iffy" when you start out, but mixing it for the full 5 minutes turns out beautifully. I halved the recipe and added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon then piped it onto cinnamon biscotti. Absolutely delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma-diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Photo by dani
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
After adding extra water (2 tbs.) and vanilla (1 tsp.), I got it to the right consistancy. I used butter flavored shortening instead of plain, it gave it a yellowish color but looked great with the pink sprinkles I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
greasy , flavourless,tastes like cheap grocery store frosting! Quick and easy not a good trade off, i would rather take more time and NOT use shortening as the base fat, better tose cream cheese, butter or some kind of mix of both or a egg white or whipping cream type.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great! I had less icing sugar than I thought, so I had to half the recipe. Still worked great, and I added a pinch of each, cloves, allspice and cinnamon. Yummy!! My toddler loved it! I found it sweet, but no sweeter than any other icing, and by adding the spices, it helped to balance the flavors out. Also I used 1/2 lard and 1/2 salted butter. I will use this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Easy recipe, very flexible. Took others' suggestions and substituted half the shortening with butter. Also added only 3 cups of powdered sugar, but I love sweet stuff so I think it probably would have been good with 4. Easy to tint and decorate with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I LOVED this icing. I used all butter instead of shortening and cut down the sugar to 3 cups instead of using the 4. I couldn't stop eating it; it is the best icing ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I had to make a cake for a girl at work.We forgot her birthday today. We remembered everyone else.(I know, that is so bad) So I wanted to make her a homemade cake and icing. She likes sweet icing. So this is perfect. I whippped it in my kitchenaid mixer. It was light and fluffy. Thanks for a great icing recipe. We ordered her flowers too. NOONE gets flowers. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Philbeck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States