Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This makes a great icing! I didn't have any shortening, so I used 1 3/4 sticks of butter. I did find it a bit too sweet, but after I added a few dashes of salt it was perfect. The texture was perfect. I didn't have any food coloring, so I added a few teaspoons of the red velvet cake batter to it to give it color. It worked perfectly! I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Epling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is just a beautiful frosting! Creamy, smooth, fluffy and delicious, perfect for piping and easy to mix up - just dump all the ingredients in a bowl and let 'er rip! I didn't need a pure white frosting so I used half butter and hi-ratio shortening, however, I've used all shortening many times and have no complaints of greasiness or the frosting being tasteless. Those who do have those issues might try using hi-ratio shortening, a pinch of salt which heightens flavors and a teeny bit of almond flavoring ('tho I prefer just the vanilla). And by all means make sure whatever shortening you're using is fresh and not rancid! (Or, take the extra steps and make the more complicated and fussy Italian, French or Swiss Meringue Buttercream Frosting...) I used an egg white for part of the water called for and then just added a teaspoon or two of water until I had the piping consistency I wanted. One recipe frosts two dozen cupcakes generously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Simple and delicious frosting. Tastes JUST like what you get at the bakery. I used the regular brownish vanilla extract and you couldn't tell a difference. Don't bother buying the clear imitation vanilla flavoring. My kids enjoyed squirting the icing on the cupcakes after I put it in a sandwich bag and cut off the tip so they could squeeze it out. This one is a keeper! 5 out of 5 because I needed a homemade icing without soy products that my kids would like. A homerun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Excellent! I make the One Bowl Chocolate Cake III from this site all the time and decided to make my daughte's birthday cake with it so I needed an icing recipe. I tinted it pink so I wasn't worried about it being bright white, so I uses all butter and regular brown vanilla. It was excellent! Everyone was impressed with my pink 2-tier "from scratch" birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This truly is the best white icing ever!! I changed the recipe by only using three cups of powdered sugar instead of 4. I also have found that I need to make 1 and a half of this recipe to ice a cake and decorate it. You really do have to beat it for 5 mins if you want it to turn out good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina's Cakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
it is a very good icing but I used all butter and added 1/4 tsb salt. It turned out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I've tried using confectioner's fine sugar which was grainy even after more than 30mins of mixing. End up, I have to throw the entire mixture and redo. This time round, I used Icing sugar and it turns out great within 5 mins! I've replaces 2 tablespoons of water with 3 tablespoons of milk but the icing is still quite hard for piping out. Suggest to add more shortening and water/milk for a fluffier feel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Great to decorate cakes using a piping bag. I did have to add more liquid to the icing though. Just bit by bit until it would pipe out better. I didn't find it too sweet compared to my usual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This icing is way to greasy, it leaves a coating of grease in your mouth. I even used half butter and half shortening. I could imagine all shortening as being even worse. I used only 3 cups sugar and it was still too sweet. If I were too do it again, I would stick with the oldie but goody, all butter icing, with milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
this is a great fluffy icing, the whipped fluffiness made it a little hard to use to decorate a cake though. The best part is its not too sweet and lactose free for my son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 121-130 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States