Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. As stated, it looks a little "iffy" when you start out, but mixing it for the full 5 minutes turns out beautifully. I halved the recipe and added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon then piped it onto cinnamon biscotti. Absolutely delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma-diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Photo by dani
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
After adding extra water (2 tbs.) and vanilla (1 tsp.), I got it to the right consistancy. I used butter flavored shortening instead of plain, it gave it a yellowish color but looked great with the pink sprinkles I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
greasy , flavourless,tastes like cheap grocery store frosting! Quick and easy not a good trade off, i would rather take more time and NOT use shortening as the base fat, better tose cream cheese, butter or some kind of mix of both or a egg white or whipping cream type.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great! I had less icing sugar than I thought, so I had to half the recipe. Still worked great, and I added a pinch of each, cloves, allspice and cinnamon. Yummy!! My toddler loved it! I found it sweet, but no sweeter than any other icing, and by adding the spices, it helped to balance the flavors out. Also I used 1/2 lard and 1/2 salted butter. I will use this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Easy recipe, very flexible. Took others' suggestions and substituted half the shortening with butter. Also added only 3 cups of powdered sugar, but I love sweet stuff so I think it probably would have been good with 4. Easy to tint and decorate with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I LOVED this icing. I used all butter instead of shortening and cut down the sugar to 3 cups instead of using the 4. I couldn't stop eating it; it is the best icing ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I had to make a cake for a girl at work.We forgot her birthday today. We remembered everyone else.(I know, that is so bad) So I wanted to make her a homemade cake and icing. She likes sweet icing. So this is perfect. I whippped it in my kitchenaid mixer. It was light and fluffy. Thanks for a great icing recipe. We ordered her flowers too. NOONE gets flowers. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I took the advise of some other reviewers and used less powder sugar as well as using some butter in place of some of the crisco and I gotta say, this stuff is gooooood. Not too sweet in my opinion. Just right :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Added 1 tsp almond extract along with the vanilla. Used Karo Syrup instead of water. It tasted fantastic! I got lots of compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Simple and easy to work with - spread beautifully over the cake and blended effortlessly with food coloring. This will be my new "go-to" basic icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States