Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Excellent! I make the One Bowl Chocolate Cake III from this site all the time and decided to make my daughte's birthday cake with it so I needed an icing recipe. I tinted it pink so I wasn't worried about it being bright white, so I uses all butter and regular brown vanilla. It was excellent! Everyone was impressed with my pink 2-tier "from scratch" birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This truly is the best white icing ever!! I changed the recipe by only using three cups of powdered sugar instead of 4. I also have found that I need to make 1 and a half of this recipe to ice a cake and decorate it. You really do have to beat it for 5 mins if you want it to turn out good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina's Cakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
it is a very good icing but I used all butter and added 1/4 tsb salt. It turned out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I've tried using confectioner's fine sugar which was grainy even after more than 30mins of mixing. End up, I have to throw the entire mixture and redo. This time round, I used Icing sugar and it turns out great within 5 mins! I've replaces 2 tablespoons of water with 3 tablespoons of milk but the icing is still quite hard for piping out. Suggest to add more shortening and water/milk for a fluffier feel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Great to decorate cakes using a piping bag. I did have to add more liquid to the icing though. Just bit by bit until it would pipe out better. I didn't find it too sweet compared to my usual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This icing is way to greasy, it leaves a coating of grease in your mouth. I even used half butter and half shortening. I could imagine all shortening as being even worse. I used only 3 cups sugar and it was still too sweet. If I were too do it again, I would stick with the oldie but goody, all butter icing, with milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
this is a great fluffy icing, the whipped fluffiness made it a little hard to use to decorate a cake though. The best part is its not too sweet and lactose free for my son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Regular icing. Basic recipe. I used half butter half shortening. I dont really like the texture, especially for decoration, but its ok, thats the kind of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I substituted butter for the shortening. How can butter, sugar and vanilla go wrong? Of course it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I really like it. Everyone said my cake was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States