Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is a wonderful mild frosting. If you love super sweet, this is NOT for you. We make most of our cakes w/o frosting, because my husband doesn't like frosting but when he tried this it was a huge hit. Plus we have a lot of foreign friends who all agree American deserts are TOO sweet, many of whom agree that this is a good frosting. You can change the texture by adding a VERY small ammt. of milk/ water (a few drops) at a time to get desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
used all salted butter no shortening, increased vanilla, and added 1/4tsp salt, only used 3C powdered sugar, and thinned with additional milk for spreading. This was great not too sweet because of the salt, perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkitty79
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This is amazing! I made it for just 2 serving because I am allergic to milk and the rest of my family wanted chocolate icing. I even made it with out a blender considering i am lazy. I am exicted to find a yummy recipe like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Really easy to make. Not too sweet. I used butter instead of shortening and regular vanilla extract and added food colouring. Turned out great. Will for sure make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
reminds me of oreo cream not bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was the best icing ever. Not to sweet and it kept it's consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montclair, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This makes a great icing! I didn't have any shortening, so I used 1 3/4 sticks of butter. I did find it a bit too sweet, but after I added a few dashes of salt it was perfect. The texture was perfect. I didn't have any food coloring, so I added a few teaspoons of the red velvet cake batter to it to give it color. It worked perfectly! I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMiohana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is just a beautiful frosting! Creamy, smooth, fluffy and delicious, perfect for piping and easy to mix up - just dump all the ingredients in a bowl and let 'er rip! I didn't need a pure white frosting so I used half butter and hi-ratio shortening, however, I've used all shortening many times and have no complaints of greasiness or the frosting being tasteless. Those who do have those issues might try using hi-ratio shortening, a pinch of salt which heightens flavors and a teeny bit of almond flavoring ('tho I prefer just the vanilla). And by all means make sure whatever shortening you're using is fresh and not rancid! (Or, take the extra steps and make the more complicated and fussy Italian, French or Swiss Meringue Buttercream Frosting...) I used an egg white for part of the water called for and then just added a teaspoon or two of water until I had the piping consistency I wanted. One recipe frosts two dozen cupcakes generously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Simple and delicious frosting. Tastes JUST like what you get at the bakery. I used the regular brownish vanilla extract and you couldn't tell a difference. Don't bother buying the clear imitation vanilla flavoring. My kids enjoyed squirting the icing on the cupcakes after I put it in a sandwich bag and cut off the tip so they could squeeze it out. This one is a keeper! 5 out of 5 because I needed a homemade icing without soy products that my kids would like. A homerun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Excellent! I make the One Bowl Chocolate Cake III from this site all the time and decided to make my daughte's birthday cake with it so I needed an icing recipe. I tinted it pink so I wasn't worried about it being bright white, so I uses all butter and regular brown vanilla. It was excellent! Everyone was impressed with my pink 2-tier "from scratch" birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States