Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I love buttercream icings, so I wanted to have some butter flavor in this, but keep it a nice white icing. Subbed in 1/4 c salted butter, 1 tbsp milk, and 1/2 vanilla, 1/2 almond extract. Reduced shortening to 1/2 c and sugar to 3 1/2. Definitely needed to add water for texture, but milk gave it a creamier flavor. Would definitely make this again, probably play with different clear extracts/flavorings. If you're looking to decorate a 2 8" rounds, you'll need to 1.5 or 2x this recipe. With my slight reductions, it was barely enough to fill and frost. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This made a greasy, tasteless icing that quickly dried out. It leaves an unpleasant coating on your tongue. It is also overly sweet. I happen to like the icing on most grocery store cakes, but this isn't it. This was purely a waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenBarbarian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
excellent Butter is best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
this really is the best white icing ever! i have used it for years of christmas baking, it is a perfect balance for spicy gingerbread cookies! thank you for posting this recipe! i have recommended it to many friends you have enjoyed it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystabar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I loved it...this was like the best icing ever!!!When I first tried making it I wasnt paying close enough attention to the recipe and used regular sugar instead .Anyone else who gave this recipe a bad rating probably had the same problem....(the second time it was great!!!!)I LOVED IT! I agree with another review i saw for this recipe ...I dont understand how anyone could rate this anything but excellent !!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Excellent! I used this on a cake I baked for a friend whose son is allergic to dairy and eggs. I used a little less sugar, and added a little bit of water at the end when mixing to thin it out a little to frost the cake. It was SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Thanks for the tip (from one of the comments) to add salt. That helped moderate the sweetness. I added 2 tsp of vanilla to give it more flavor. We liked this icing and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Followed directions exactly but it didn't taste good and left a bitter taste in my mouth. We made it for my daughter who has a lot of food allergies, and she took one taste and said it was icky, she wouldn't touch her cupcake again till we cut the top off. We through away the doll cake I made for her and the rest of the frosting. Also, though it held it's form, it wasn't easy to spread smooth, so the decorating looked sloppy. I used a buttercream recipe for the rest of the cupcakes and it was much easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This recipe needs to be modified quite a bit to taste good. Use at least 8 cups of confectioners sugar and 2 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp of almond extract. Add some salt to taste, and it will take more water to get it to the consistancy to spread on a cake. Keep tasting till you get it lke you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This icing was not very good...it left a funny flim of shortening on your tongue and i used waaaay more icing sugar than the recipe called for. It was a great consistancy for decorating and with more icing sugar was ediable, but without the added icing sugar it tasted terribe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States