Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Love this recipe! So fast and easy and has a great whipped texture....I made a few changes: cut the recipe in half (perfect for 24 cupcakes), used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter, and 1/2 t. of almond extract instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This recipe is just fantastic! I was afraid to use it because I normally don't like shortening based frostings, so I took other's suggestions and did half butter and half shortening. I also used milk instead of water, and only used 1 tbs milk but I used almost 1 tbs of clear imitation vanilla, because imitation isn't as strong as the real stuff. But this was just great, the first recipe for frosting I actually LOVED the first time I tried it! most of the other recipes I have to fiddle around with for a half hour. Oh I also whipped the butter and shortening for about 5-7 minutes and added the milk and vanilla, it helps absorb the flavor of the vanilla better and makes for a smoother frosting. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I only needed half the amount of icing this recipe gave, so I just halved all the ingredients. 2 c. sugar, 1/2 c. shortening, etc. After mixing everything together, the icing was WAY too sweet for my taste. Since the recipe didn't call for salt, I added 3 tbsp salted butter and 1 extra tbsp of water to balance out the sweetness of it. It just needed those adjustments and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyss_Bliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very good! I have been looking for a recipe like this one. I did use 1/2 salted butter and a dash of almond flavoring and will continue to use this recipe for years to come. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Did not care for this. Followed it exactly but the shortening gives the frosting a strange texture in your mouth. The rating is for the recipe as printed. Note everyone who rated it high changed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This icing is amazing, simply amazing. It actually didn't work too well on my cookies, because it didn't stick to the surface very well and therefore wasn't really spreadable, but I think it would do okay on a different cookie or cake (I was using a very firm, buttery sugar cookie) or if piped on. More importantly, the icing tasted so good that I couldn't resist using it anyway, even though I had to just drop a hunk onto the cookie and smush it down. It tastes just like the cream filling in Oreos ... SO good. I'll definitely be using this recipe again. BTW, I used this recipe as-is (all shortening, no butter) but only made 1/4 batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This really is the "best white icing ever". Thank you for submitting this recipe, and the very relevant tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
That icing is the best frigging icing ever.....!!!!!!!!!!......my parents were in heaven ......and as a matter of s fact so wuz i!!!!!! u rock Megan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clayton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Definitely is the foundation of a great Icing.... I used coconut oil instead of shortening, also added coconut powder... gives that yummy coconut flavor and when i frosted it i drizzle it with coconut flakes.... like snow balls... on black forest chocolate cupcake.... yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tessaDGoddess
Home Town: La Jolla, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States