Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Super easy. I used butter and pure vanilla extract and it still came out quite nice and white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
The flavor is ok, but it practically melted when I put it on my completely cooled cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffinpatch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I used this recipe when decorating a half-sheet cake this past weekend. As another reviewer suggested, I used 1/2 cup EACH Crisco and salted butter. I do no agree that water works to thin out the icing; rather, it turns it into cement! I didn't bother with corn syrup, either. I used just a little milk (started with a teaspoon and added in little bits as I needed it). The icing is is very easy to work with, although if you are tinting it and need to use it at different times during the decorating process, put the piping bag(s) in the regrigerator to firm up (hot weather and icing do no not mix!). Using 1/4 tsp salt also cuts the sweetness of the icing, as the same reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I recently used this icing on a wedding cake. I took other reviewers advice and added a bit of salt and butter flavouring instead of vanilla. It turned out very well. Very sweet, of course, but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Hi, again this a recipe I have always used for my decorator frosting except that I also add at least 1 tsp. of almond flavoring. It takes it over the top!! Please try and enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I followed this recipe to a T and in my opinion it had a horrible flavor and was not creamy, even after thinning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crooksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Good basic icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I used this recipe for the first time yesterday. It was very good. I did add an extra 1/2tsp of vanilla extract. I used real vanilla extract, not the clear imitation. So it had an ivory color. The texture was perfect. It received many compliments from my guests. I'd definitely use it again. As some others stated it was very sweet. That is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I think the suggestion to use 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter with some salt made this recipe absolutely perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This recipe made me happy & unhappy. I followed suggestions, subbed half butter (salted). Also, used half & half instead of water - so it would remain stable but soft. Ended up adding 4 3/4c sugar - a pound basically. Also added a scant fourth almond extract & scant fourth salt. Well, yum frosting. Similar to bakery/birthday cake type, BUT NOT WHITE WITH BUTTER. 'Should've known better, I agree. 'Followed review on that one, too. It looks white compared to butter frosting, sure; but if we're talking color? It isn't. I "need" PANDA WHITE. I am not kidding. :) This isn't panda white. It appears there will be more than one cake in my future. Oh, mine yielded about 3 1/2cups w a little help from the electric mixer. I don't see how 4 - 5 are possible unless you reeeeeallly whip it. 'Guess ya could. Oh, a little 411 if you're new to frosting: Whipping will lighten the color - artificial or not. Next day: 'Tried making whitewhite frosting w/o butter, subbing sour cream & shortening. Not good. Even added 2T butter & still, not good. 'Ended up using this lessthanPandawhite frosting & everyone liked it. I'll keep looking for white that you can eat though! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States