Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Easy to make and even easier to work with. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
It seems that very few of the reviewers actually used this recipe, and instead used a version of the Wilton frosting, which is half shortening, half butter (and is my all time favorite frosting recipe). This recipe as it is written, however, has a few issues. I tried this recipe because I needed something that would not spoil in the mail on its way to Afghanistan, and Crisco doesn't spoil in hot conditions. Compared to the Wilton frosting, which is my standard buttercream, this was (1) way too stiff and (2) not nearly sweet enough. To fix it I ended up adding 1.5x the amount of confectioners sugar called for in the recipe and 1.5-2x as much water. I think the recipe would also have been better using milk instead of water, but as I was concerned with spoilage I stuck to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
made a couple changes, since i was using food coloring i used 1 tbs of vanilla extract, and 4 tbs water. tastes delicious! very light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
It was ok... I would use only 3/4 cup of shortening and substitute water for milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I found this recipe when I realized I didn't have enough butter to do my usual frosting recipe, and thought I'd give it a try. Turned out fantastic. I also loved the consistency of it! I only made two changes - I used real vanilla extract (liberally - I don't measure my vanilla, and I love the flavor!) and about 1/8 of a cup of whipping cream. Saved it to the recipe box, I will definitely pull this one out again! I can't wait to play with flavors with this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Etna, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Easy to make. Simple materials and process. Taste is mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I made this icing for a cake I made and it was so sweet and it tasted all grainy from the sugar and I only added 2 cups of sugar. It made so much icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I have made this frosting in humid (today) weather, in the winter, doesn't matter. IT IS AWEOME ! Meghan is right, let it go 5 minutes in the mixer. Thank you for posting it on Allrecipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANIE4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It was great! We used butter instead of shortening and added a splash of milk and an extra half teaspoon of vanilla so it is hard to rate the original recipe, but ours was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was horrible. All you could taste is shortening, I even only used half shortening/butter mix. It was very gritty, and tasted awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States