Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I have made this frosting in humid (today) weather, in the winter, doesn't matter. IT IS AWEOME ! Meghan is right, let it go 5 minutes in the mixer. Thank you for posting it on Allrecipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANIE4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It was great! We used butter instead of shortening and added a splash of milk and an extra half teaspoon of vanilla so it is hard to rate the original recipe, but ours was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was horrible. All you could taste is shortening, I even only used half shortening/butter mix. It was very gritty, and tasted awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
So usually I am all about taste and not looks, but in this case i needed a frosting that was stark white to make baseball cupcakes for my son's end of the season baseball party. This frosting stayed true to it's promise, i used 1/2 shortening 1/2 salted butter with 3tsp of vanilla 3tbs of milk 3 cups powdered sugar and a pinch of salt. Was exactly the color i needed and tasted great too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NuBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Delicious!!!! Recipe was perfect and easy, I was scared using a hand mixer because of other recipes saying it might burn out but this recipe was my first try and it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I just made this recipe. I used cream instead of water. The consistency is perfect, flavor just like a bakery frosting. I am impressed. :) It was fluffy and white. I used wilton clear vanilla. This will be my go-to frosting from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOURSTUBBS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I am NOT picky about sweets either. I've liked, if not loved, every cake and frosting I've ever had until this one (from Safeway cakes to wedding cakes to box cakes to homemade cakes with various frostings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Loved the flavor of this icing and it was supper easy to adjust to the right consistancy for what I needed it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I tried this recipe because it has no dairy. It's easy to make and works well to ice a cake, but I do agree with a lot of reviewers that it is overly sweet and lacking in flavor, so I could taste the shortening. I used Spectrum vegetable shortening (palm shortening) so perhaps it tastes better when using Crisco. I used the white to frost the cake, and then added come cocoa powder to what was left, and piped brown writing onto the cake. I definitely prefer the chocolate version, as the cocoa masks the shortening flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States