Best Unsteamed Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Was excellent. I made it in a skillet instead of the microwave. Melted the butter added the OBS and lemon juice. Stirred it for about 30 seconds or so and then added the shrimp until pink. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Easy easy! I really can't tell any difference by using the microwave as opposed to steaming on the stove. TIP: make sure you cover your bowl so that the butter down't splatter all over the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Loved this recipe! I made it on the stove as well with partially cooked shrimp from the grocery. Cut down the old bay a little. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious! The 5 of us loved it, including children ages 5, 8 & 10. I did half the amount of Old Bay and thought it was perfect - not too salty but still with a kick. If using the full amount of Old Bay, use unsalted butter or it will be too salty. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
You can cut the fat/cals by substituting out half of the butter with broth (veggie or chicken, either one..or even just water with bullion). It doesn't affect the flavor too much, and is so much healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Super good and easy. I also sauteed the shrimp in a skillet instead of microwaving it. Good alternative (but a tad more fattening) than steamed shrimp with old bay. Nice twist to the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
To make this into a perfectly adaptable camping recipe: I placed the shrimp and the rest of the ingredients on a piece of foil and added garlic and some veggies and replaced the lemon juice with dry white wine. I closed up the foil around the shrimp and cooked in a campfire pit. Quick and easy and everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This was way to much trouble, I should have used other cooks idea's and used the skillet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Everyone enjoyed this-I used a little less Old Bay because of the kids and I used the stovetop. I couldn't bring myself to put shrimp in the microwave and I could watch it closer on the stove. Thanks for recipe-I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Based on previous reviews, I didn't microwave either. I prepared it on the stovetop and it was great and done in much less time than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States