Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Struck with late night beer munchies, I surveyed the kitchen and thought a tuna melt sounded good- but mayhap, I thought, the interweb could show me something more exciting than the grilled cheese with tuna that I was contemplating. Which landed me here. I didn't have everything on hand to do the exact recipe- no tomato, winged it with Tillamook cheddar and a 12 grain bread- but it was really good and I look forward to doing it again with rye and swiss. There is an excellent depth of flavor with the vinegar and aromatics dancing around the hearty, earthy tuna/toast/cheese. More than the sum of its parts- really nice recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Loved the recipe! Very easy to make.. Love the use of vinegar- used rice vinegar... & low fat Swiss.. My son & boyfriend loved it.. My boyfriend was trying to guess the ingredients.. Will definitely make it again & again & again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Good tuna, although I did change the recipe a bit. I added eggs. Two of them to be exact. I did not use any celery. I did more of a traditional sandwich...no tomato or swiss cheese and I used whole wheat bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Growing up, a tuna melt was a hamburger bun half topped with tuna mixed with a little mayo and a slice of american cheese which would be placed in the oven for a few minutes until the processed cheese melted. This recipe looks like royalty by comparison and I can't wait to try it. Will upgrade to five stars if it tastes anything like it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
used whole wheat bread and my own cheese. definitely broil both sides of bread. yummy. added avacado this time and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
These were delicious! Will def go into our normal dinner rotation...quick & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
FANTASTIC!!! I did use 3 5 oz cans of Tuna so we could make more:-) Also used pepperjack cheese instead. Tasted great:-) Didn't change the other stuff:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonjean82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
this is a quick and scrumptious treat. We made extra for our lunches the next day; it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I kept the recipe the same and it was a big hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Adding the vinegar to the tuna salad is fabulous. I wasn't sure about it, but took away that slight off flavor of canned tuna. Simple, tasty, quick and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States