Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
best tuna melt ever! followed the recipe exactly and it's a winner as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was so good, and my husband said it was the best tuna melt he had ever had. I followed the recipe with the following exceptions: added 1 clove of garlic to the tuna, used low fat mayo, used 1 teaspoon of dried parsley instead of 1 tablespoon of fresh, and used provolone cheese instead of swiss. Also, I had made Jo's Rosemary Bread (from this website) earlier in the week in my breadmaker. Used that bread for these sandwiches instead of rye. I also followed another reviewers suggestion and broiled the bread on both sides for 1-2 min before adding the tuna and stuff. Wonderful. Will make many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Great recipe! (I was out of red wine vinegar, so I used balsamic)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I make this with chicken breast,avacado and mozzarella, everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The 5 starts is for the recipe "AS-IS". It's amazingly tasty! I've made this several times after and personalized it. Here are my suggestions. 1] Add finely chopped cornichons, small French pickles 2] Add 1 tsp. HOT German mustard (like Löwensenf). 3] Replace salt with Seasoned salt. I put the tuna mixture on German Rye bread and alternated finely sliced tomatoes with Swiss Cheese. My mom adapted it and adds finely chopped green peppers too. BEST Tuna melt per friends and family. Thank you Cookinggirllj!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oranaise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I LOVE these. They are the only thing I make almost weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyshay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Definitely lives up to its name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Very very good!! I didn't have rye bread so I just used whole wheat! Great, quick sandwich on a chilly night! Loved the crunch of the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Very good, used Monterey cheese instead of Swiss. Did not have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I love this and I make these often. The balsalmic vinegar adds to the flavor. I use cheddar cheese but that is the only change I made. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States